Looking for a hand with our growing family farmstead in Downeast Maine on the Blue Hill peninsula, USA.

Country

United States

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    73.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a tiny Farmstead and family of 4 in Downeast Maine on the Blue Hill peninsula. We are about 1 mile from the ocean, 1 hour from Acadia national park, and our immediate area offers so much diversity of activity and interest. My wife and I are both in our mid thirties and our children are 3 and 6. I am a carpenter by trade and Ruthie works in a bakery and runs a small chai tea business. We raise Pigs and Chickens, have a small garden, and are moving towards providing the majority of our food. We have a number of building projects going on including building a timber frame garage/workshop and finishing our home. We heat with wood and are working the woods around our house to harvest firewood, lumber and clear land for more space for gardens and animals. Life here is active and full, we love our home and love to share it with interesting folks.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Life here is so wonderful. Swimming, sailing, music, Islands, fishing, cross country skiing, hiking, exploring, foraging, growing food, a wonderful community of amazing people, this area is a gem! New England is a diverse place with so much history and Maine is a place that still holds on to some of it's old ways and feels worlds away from the rest of the country.

  • Help

    Help

    The routines of our homestead are always changing. We are interested in help with gardens, landscaping, raising and butchering livestock, childcare, and building/construction projects

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a small cord wood cabin that could accommodate a couple or single person. The cabin is tiny but has a small kitchen with sink, stove and refrigerator. There is a woodstove for heat and a primitive outhouse for... you know. In the warmer months we have an outdoor shower and in colder months we use our hand built wood fired sauna for bathing.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to be more mobile, a car would be highly recommended but we do get out often and you would be welcome to come along. We have bikes and a lot can be explored that way. The water is 1 mile or so, multiple hikes within 3-4 miles, and the nearest town with stores and such is about 15 minutes.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 156471416457