Come and join our family and enjoy cultural exchange in Secovlje, Slovenia



Favourited 240 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

  • Description


    I am a single mom in early 50ies. I live with my 14 old son in a small village, on Slovenian seaside, about 5 min from the sea. We live in a 2 bedroom flat, with our own entrance. We are easy going, likes to be in the nature, and likes to travel (I have been in more than 30 countries already, and my son in about 13 countries). The nearest beach is about 5 min away, possible to get there by bike or bus, or walk. We live close to touristic place.

    I need a reliable and responsible volunteer, age over 21, for about 1 week to 10 days weeks in July (possible in August), to help in house (gardening, painting, web designer, cooking, cleaning, ...socialising with my son (I do not have fix schedule work so we can not plan many days in advance) .I do some trainings for students, organise English language hours for kids, coaching, .. and teach my son English or Italian (if he will show an interest :) ) , occasionally you can teach me as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cross cultural communication, some Slovenian words,

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The volunteers are welcome to help with house, small garden, paining, cleaning, designing web sites etc. up to agreement, ...My 14 years old son does not need care, maybe socialising (he is young ornitologist/photographer -
    make him a company, teach him English/Italian (if he will wish / natives are most welcome) or the students that study those 2 languages Possible birdswatching at near by Salins fields - Nature park, cycling, (we have bike) and similar .... All the time having in mind the active but still easy going communication in one or in both 2 languages.

    Some little work at home/housekeeping, of course cleaning after his/her self. Cooking is most welcome. 5 cooked meals min per week are offered, breakfast too, water, coffee, tea. Much to see around, we can show you around a bit, go together on some short trips, walkings, and to my parents farm (about 70 km away), where we can help with some small work (all depends of my working/free time, have no fix schedule). We live 5 min from Croatia and about 20 min from Italian border.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Serbo-Croatian: Fluent
    Slovenian: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Croatian: Intermediate
    Russian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    A bed (linen, towels included, towels for beach included as well) offered in a small room, or in the leaving room, common bathroom with us. If you prefer you can set up a tent in front of the house. We have a tent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We kindly ask for the Certificate of good conduct (impunity for children) which you can easily get probably at your Ministry for internal affairs or Ministry of Justice at your country, Some references of working with young are most welcome too.
    Web designers welcome with your references.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 h per day or up to the agreement (one day more another ady less)

Host ref number: 155962813371