Help to maintain our large family chalet outdoors and indoors in Combloux, French Alps, France

Country

France

Favourited 154 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a big family of 4 sisters + siblings trying to take care of a huge chalet used as a family holiday house, rebuilt after WWII. Situated in the french Alps, not far from the Chamonix area at 1100m high. Early and late snow, ski resort.
    This is a big house full of life during school holidays when the whole family reunited. Mainly used during winter ski holidays, there is a lot of work to do after the snow season, especially in the garden around. This is a magical place full of multiple talents and skills, our family is a mix of world travellers, franco irish family, craftmen and women, creatives, intellectuals, musicians, urban deskworkers etc… and between school holidays, when the place is quieter, we need help to take care of this magical place in a respectfull and universal conviviality. We like organic food, growing our own, recycling…
    Chalet at 3km from the village by car and 1.5km by foot. Nearest train station is Sallanches 8 km down in the Arve valley or TGV station in Annecy (60km) and buses. Nearest airport is Geneva.

    Nous sommes une grande famille : 4 soeurs et progéniture en charge d'un grand alpage familial restauré, au milieu des Alpes du Nord dans la région de Chamonix. Grande maison sur 2 étages au milieu d'un terrain de 2hectares de bois et prairies très embroussaillés, petit jardin cultivé et fruitiers. A 1100m d'altitude au pied des pistes de ski en hiver.
    Ce chalet est utilisé pour les vacances scolaire par notre nombreuse famille. Beaucoup de passage et de vie dans cette maison aux périodes de vacances. Lieu de retrouvaille magique pour de multiples talents et connaissances ; voyageurs de tous horizons, franco-irlandais, artisans, créatifs, intellectuels, musiciens amateurs mais aussi urbains de toute sorte etc… Entre tous ces passages, nous avons besoin d'aide pour entretenir ce lieu dans un esprit d'universelle convivialité.
    Le chalet est à 3km du village par la route et 1,5km à pied. La gare la plus proche est Sallanches à 8 km dans la vallée de l'Arve, Annecy pour le TGV (60 km). L'aéroport le plus proche est Genève.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    French local good traditional cuisine, local street market and farmers around, amazing cheeses. We make our own home made jams and preserves. Walks around the Mont-Blanc area. Chamonix 25km, 5km from Megève. Learning French language, cultural exchange. Notions of Permaculture to give. Irish songs if the irish are around. Great walks around, wild country.

  • Help

    Help

    We need fit and healthy volunteers, for building help, barriers, gardening, painting and repairing, (two hectares of vegetation around). Some help indoor would be appreciated. No experience necessary, but common sense is essential. You'll have fun learning useful skills you will use throughout your life. Someone with construction experience would be fantastic but if not we can be creative and have fun instead. Small indoor repairs might be asked if needed and shutter painting (lots of them).

    Nous avons besoin de volontaires pour nous aidez à entretenir 2 hectares d'arbres, de prairies, de jardin, à 1100m d'altitude. Une longue cloture à refaire et entretenir, Taille d'arbres, fauchage et débroussaillage, plante d'arbres et d'arbustes, jardinage et désherbage. Quelques travaux d'entretien sur la maison (petite maçonnerie, peinture etc…). Pas de grande experience nécessaire mais plutot un bon sens commun, savoir se servir d'outils de construction et d'entretien de jardin.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french mainly, english, german (a bit), italian (a bit too)

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Single room during spring time or in dormitory during full season we have 2 dormitories 1 of 4 beds and another one of 3. Workawayers will be welcome to our family life.

    En chambre collective avec d'autres volontaires (1 de 4lits et 1 autre de 3 lits) ou chambre individuelle suivant l'occupation familiale. En général le chalet est plein aux vacances d'été et d'hiver et plutôt vide le reste de l'année.
    Les workawayers seront les bienvenus dans notre famille.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Sight seing (Mont Blanc, Chamonix, Megève), mountain climbing, walks, ice skating, swimming in lakes during sumer time or in a king size swimming pool in Megève. Street market in Sallanches, Spa in ST Gervais.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4/5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.









Host ref number: 154624627388