housekeeping for fruit farmers in Hanover VA, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 119 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We (Pierson 31 & Bridget 28) live in Hanover, Virginia; 30 minutes from Richmond. Bridget grew up in northern Virginia, has traveled using workaway, and studied sustainable agriculture. Pierson grew up on a farm, has traveled, and studied education. The family farm is 10 minutes from our house; it has lots of blackberries and raspberries, and an orchard.

    In 2018 we bought our house which is on 2 acres. We’ve started making the house a home and turning the land into gardens.

    We’re looking for help with cooking, housekeeping, and gardening. There might also be an opportunity to get paid work on the farm.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Tour a sustainable fruit farm, enjoy the freshest fruits.

    Would be a good fit for folks with their own activities like studies, yoga, reading, writing, crafting, art - there’s plenty of time and space to do your own thing here.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help

    Help

    Cooking dinner (pescatarian/vegetarian) 4x/week, doing dishes, and maintaining a clean kitchen is the most appreciated. Also vacuuming, laundry, and other housekeeping tasks. In the garden there’s weeding and harvesting. We ask for 15 hours per week of help with chores in exchange for staying in our home. Another 5 if we are supplying most of your food.

    If you have a car, you could apply for a job picking berries at the farm. Working at the farm is not guaranteed or required to volunteer at our home, but it is a way you could earn money, meet more people, and learn a lot.

    We want this to be a mutually beneficial exchange for everyone, and we are open to discussion about help/work tasks. Do you have a special skill that could benefit our home? Or practical skills anyone could make use of? Or artistic abilities?

    Must be comfortable with pets, and 420 friendly. Would love to find 1-2 people who are a good fit to stay long-term.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, work-related Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private bedroom and private bathroom.

    Full kitchen access. We can provide meals and food or you can manage your supply, but you will be cooking for the home.

    Restaurant within walking distance. Unlimited fruit and jam (from the farm). Wi-fi. Netflix. Xbox. 420 friendly. We have 2 lovely cats.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Richmond is 30 minutes away - an artsy city with lots of independent businesses and a couple Universities. Amusement park 15 minutes away. Some people like to stay with us during the week then take a trip nearby on the weekends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    15-20 hours/week housekeeping

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 154222214843