Long term Workaway opportunity for dog whisperer in Melbourne, Australia

Country

Australia

updated  

Favourited 337 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    775

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Seeking:
    Help in the house with cleaning, running errands and professional dog minding.
    Couples and singles.
    4 months +
    Request: 18hours/ week of your time
    Exchange: Lush accommodation and wifi (no meals)
    Plenty of opportunity to get a paid job nearby and save up money.


    Hi there. This is a great opportunity for a dog lover, looking for a long term workaway place. The hours are only short, so it is particularly suitable, if you are looking to get a paid part time job on the side, save up money and settle down in one place for a minimum of 4-6 months.

    I'm a canine behaviourist (/dog whisperer) with my own business. I offer dog boarding and daycare for the clients in our own home and usually host 2-5 dogs at a time. I uphold a high level of service and professionalism in my business and you'll probably think I ask for a high standard of work. The payback is that your chores can be done in very few hours and at flexible times.

    You will be sharing the house with me, my husband, another 2 workawayers and the dogs. My request is that you help cook meals, clean the house, run errands and look after the boarding/ daycare dogs, so that I can concentrate on consultations and classes. My business is booming at the moment, so I need help with all the little things that I don't get the time for... See below for the diverse list of tasks.

    I'm generally cheerful and friendly, some would say I'm colourful, a little eccentric and a hippie at heart. I like to create a friendly vibe in the house and offer flexibility where possible. I'm also kind of busy -tend to jam pack my life with all my favourite stuff, so this opportunity will suit mature and independent person wishing to have their own time and social life. If you are interested in conscious living, we will probably have a lot in common.

    With our current workawayers, we do a sharing circle on Fridays. We will be keen to continue this routine, but we are also open to what (else) you may bring. Whatever feels right.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is the perfect opportunity to stay in the inner suburbs/ beachy part of Melbourne with heaps of spare time or time to work in a cafe and save up money. Our big advantages are flexibility and super cute dogs.

    If you are keen, then I'm more than happy to teach you about dog whispering and dog training. Sometimes, the workawayer role includes assisting me during puppy classes, which is always a great opportunity to learn something new and fall in love all at the same time!

  • Help

    Help

    All up, we ask that you help a maximum of 18 hours per week.
    The help is split in morning and afternoon/evening shifts. The dogs need to be looked after 7 days a week, but you and the other workawayers share the shifts, so that you get at least 2 full days off per week.

    I'm looking for all sorts of help and appreciate your flexibility, but the main part is helping me re-gain spare time and a more enjoyable lifestyle. I don't cook, so making sure I get healthy and yummy meals will be a major part of the job along with feeding, washing, brushing and walking up to 4 dogs at a time. You'll be able to take them to a nearby off leash dog park.
    The tasks will also include cleaning the dog area and the rest of the house (incl the car), washing the laundry and doing some basic gardening. I may also request that you assist in puppy classes or other work, depending on your abilities.

    Usually we will have less than 4 dogs and only one person is required to walk the dogs. During school holidays, we usually have more than 4 dogs and you'll need to go 2 people together (or split the dogs in two walks). During those busy times, we may ask you to help a few extra hours. If you ever need a weekend completely off, the we can organise that while there are no dogs, so mainly outside school holidays.

    This gig is perfect for you if you are a good healthy-food cook, a big time dog lover, enjoy variety and can work autonomously. Although you will receive clear instructions and training, this role requires that you can work independently, take responsibility and initiative and think on your feet. The job can be strenuous at time, demanding physical strength and an ability to stay cool headed in overwhelming situations, so you'll need to be in good health, both physically and mentally.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Danish.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In exchange, I'm offering very comfortable accommodation and all the utility bills (incl wifi, but excl food). We live in a beautiful house with great heating/ cooling, modern swanky interior and a big garden. Our home is only a stone's throw from Bentleigh's eclectic highstreet with many cafe's, fun shops and a railway station. We are a 10 minute bike ride from the beach.

    You get a large bright room to yourself, a comfy Queen-size bed, and there's a lounge room that is shared with the dogs and another that's shared with the humans. You'll share the bathroom with the other workawayers.

    You'll be able to get to most places in inner Melbourne within 50-60 minutes on public transport, bus, tram or train, but we provide bicycles to get around locally. You'll get to the beach on a bike in less than 10 minutes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you are working for me during a school holiday, it is important that you can commit to stay here and give at least 3 weeks' notice if you wish to stop. School holidays a very busy time for us, so it would be unfortunate if you took off in the middle of it.

    There's soooo much to do in Melbourne, its a fantastic place to live whether you are into sports, art or the outdoors.

    My ideal match is someone who enjoys a healthy diet and looks after their body. Please note that I cannot extend my offer to smokers -not even if you only smoke outside. I also do not tolerate any drugs or excessive drinking in the house. We are a household of meat eaters (me!), vego's and vegans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    18 hours per week -but note that may be on a Saturday or Sunday

I am lucky to be engaged with this handsome man. We prefer to live apart, so I live alone and he lives just around the corner.
The dogs are usually my puppy class graduates, so they are young and playful. Most poodle crosses.







Host ref number: 153682995575