Come and help with all facets of farm work on the eastern side of Lyttleton Harbour, Banks Peninsular

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 170 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/07/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Requiring Workers/helpers for the next few months
    No couples please
    If you are fit and capable to work on steep hill country everyday in all weather, there maybe an opportunity to assist with weed eradication in May June n July, and with stock work in October and November

    Our home at Camp Bay in Lyttleton Harbour, Canterbury, was built in the early 1930's and like all older homes has a history and needs some TLC!
    The farm is 750 acres of typical point country on the eastern side of Lyttleton Harbour on Banks Peninsular, we have sheep and cattle with horses and dogs!

    Christchurch is a short ferry and bus ride away or it takes about 40 minutes to drive around the harbour and over the hill!

    There is an extensive garden which we are restoring and an amazing beach less than a minutes walk from the front door.

    Your chores will be varied, out on the farm, maybe in the wool-shed, planting and weeding in the vege garden or plucking weeds in the house garden.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    learn about our unique nz culture, history and what real farming is about

  • Help

    Help

    All facets of farm work, and also some building projects, renovations etc
    Advanced equine skills, breaking and training

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Comfortable bed in a Sleepout beside the homestead

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    prefer singles( or couples if one has building Skills)

    We are in chch city from time to time and can arange to pick you up when convenient, just ask us
    Good kiwi farm meals using as much as possible from the farm and garden, if you have a special diet you are best to stay in the city?
    4 to 5 hours per day but very flexible how that is carried out. Prefer the work is done in the morning, work all day and have tomorrow free...
    Assistance with meals is part of the experience in sharing our home

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4.5 hours a day per day stayed and help with all meals


Host ref number: 152456374556