Looking for some help with gardening and some light maintenance near a beautiful beach, East Coast of Tasmania

  • Favourited 150 times
  • Last activity: 21 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I live on the East Coast of Tasmania, about one hour from Hobart, near Orford and near a beautiful beach, on the doorstep of Maria Island. As the nearest shops and the main highway (and bus stop) are 5km away, having your own transport is handy but not essential.
    The house is nestled in bushland, with local wildlife visiting daily. There is no entertainment in the area, apart from a golf course and a bowls club and a pub, all 5 km away. It is tranquility plus :-)
    There is a fire pit next to the house, ready for BBQs, spit roasts and other culinary creations or just to enjoy a nice campfire in bushy surrounds.
    What might you be doing? Jobs around the house, gardening and light maintenance, and if you feel creative, you could also try your hand at making bush furniture or paper or paint or...
    I have a bicycle that you can use in your spare time to explore the nearby beaches and tracks.
    I love having travellers visit from all corners of the globe, all ages and cultures. I enjoy sharing stories and experiences and am happy to cook for you, or let you cook if you want to share your culinary skills.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Languages spoken in the house are English and German, but always happy to practice Spanish or French with visitors. And always happy to try and cook food from all over the world. Travelling is a passion

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening and general outdoor maintenance. No special skills required.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Double or twin room with separate bathroom. Plenty of room for Campervan or Caravan or tent.
    I also have a Yurt available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Due to the location, own transport is handy but not essential. There is a nice bike or walking trail into town or along the coast. I have a bike that can be used. The ferry to Maria Island National Park is a 15 minute drive from the house. There are many beautiful beaches and some other biking and walking trails. Hobart is approx. 1 hour south, Freycinet National Park approx 1.5 hours north. This is a great place for relaxing and recharging. The nearest town facilities are 5 and 12km away.

    I have no pets (only local wildlife), it is a non-smoking house, no wifi in the house, but Telstra and Optus phones work perfectly for calls and data.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    No limit to size of van/motorhome parking. Electricity available but amenities in house only

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day or depending on weather, whatever works

Host ref number: 151686914748

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Boat life surrounded by national park in Akuna Bay near Sydney, Australia
Come and help with our family close to Sydney, Australia