Come and help on our family farm with gardening and the animals in the mountains near Benafigos, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Eva, and I have a small family with my partner Miguel and baby Aarón, living in the mountains near Castellón, Spain. I work for a company that provides public and private green areas resources to better the health of their trees.. This brings me to travel around Spain often to meet with clients. Aarón Is 20 months old..we hope to welcome a Workawayer into it to help out in our day-to-day lives with a construction project of a small container house on our finca, as well as in the huerto, and with the animals.

    We have a house with 1 dog, Sidra, and a finca, 6 horses, 3 cats, and many chickens. There are a lot of tasks to be done but it is always in the company of beautiful mountains, landscapes, fincas, and caring neighbors and friends.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are happy to exchange languages and help our Workawayer with their Spanish, and with Valenciano as well (the local dialect)! I can share traditional Spanish recipes that I have learned to cook with my grandmother.. help our Workawayer learn about the culture of the region and the history, beauty, and life it has to offer. Nearby pueblos are rich with generations of history and buildings that date back centuries, medieval walking paths, and unique nature. Now, people who are both from the area or relocated from other parts of Spain and the world form a welcoming, tight-knit community. We are surrounded by beautiful views, clean air, olive trees, and Mediterranean nature away from the busy atmosphere of a big city.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for an extra set of hands to help on our finca. We need help with a construction project of a small container house with a green roof, as well as help clearing and regenerating the huerto, or garden, on the finca, and feeding and caring for the horses, chickens, and cats. Prior experience in construction is welcome but not necessary, but we look for someone who is handy and happy to do physical tasks, be outdoors and get their hands dirty, and is comfortable with animals. We also have other small improvement projects that always need help. We would expect 5 hours per day of help, 5 days per week in the finca, sometimes while I am at home/away working my job, sometimes with myself and my partner later in the day. When he does not have school, Aarón is with us as an active helper that needs our time and attention while we are doing tasks! A Workawayer would help us accomplish projects we need to do to improve our spaces for the family and the animals while sharing an experience in the beautiful natural area we call home.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Spanish: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    English: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayer will have their own room with a double bed (two twin beds put together), a television with access to streaming services, and a window with a view overlooks the front of the house property as well as nearby mountains and olive tree groves. Upstairs bathroom is equipped with a shower, bath, a standard toilet, and sink/vanity and is a shared space, but allows for privacy as we have our own in our bedroom. Kitchen space is shared and the Workawayer has access to prepare their own food with provided groceries and is expected to help cook lunch and dinner to be shared with the family.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Workawayer will have access to a bicycle to cycle through the mountains, trees, and to nearby pueblos to explore the rich landscape. On days off and during free time this along with walking, playing with Aaron and Sidra, joining me with errands, etc. are all options. Riding the horses can also be an option with prior preparation.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have strong wifi signal and work can be done in the bedroom or at the kitchen table.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of space in the Woods for a camper..

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Sorry we cant except people with animals or children..

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 149219119496