Lend a hand at our farm and experience rural life in Gisborne, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    NZ/swiss middle-aged couple (+ family trust) returned to NZ" roots"beginning first steps , on the 4th generation farmland( approx 50 ha,s coastal hill country), where we are preparing/repairing our land & fences, for the planting of NZ native plants to improve biodiversity and erosion control.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This project is very timely for the physical world we live on at this moment, & could be repeated across the globe as a very appropriate task for those who would appreciate this responsibility.We are a N.Z/ Swiss/(SthAmerican at this moment household ,with 2 of us growing up in this region. I,m sure living & working with us, would provide plenty of cultural exchange & links to the culture of this region.
    Please research Tairāwhiti/Gisborne info. links for all the free time possibilities in the near.

  • Help

    Help

    You must enjoy working in a team doing physical/ manual chores....We need particularly help with fixing ,maintaining & renewing fence-lines. Reducing the Thistles,Wattles & Ink-weed with hand tools; Helping to keep our vegetable gardens productive .Assisting the clearing away of old wire on the property.Moving the goats around.Scything long grass ,where necessary.Helping dig the flood-drainage. In Autumn planting trees & Flax against erosion. Eventually helping to renovate the cottage. Assist with daily /weekly tasks in & around farm house.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room & use of communal rooms in family farmhouse.shared meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    tairawhitigisborne .co.nz

    own transport is advisable

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi (poor mobile network)

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of space for a campervan

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 148852526275