We need 1 female volunteer for Housekeeping! (no couples)- sharing room with female- Tierra del Fuego

Country

Argentina

Favourited 265 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    16/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    54.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 12 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    -------------------------------

    Hi! My name is Lucia and I live in a Winter Center in Ushuaia, where we have different white activities such as dogsledding, snowmobiles, snowshoe walks, nordic skiing, a restaurant and a few cabins for renting. We receive around 70 tourists per day. Together with that, we also host travellers in our Mountain Refuge, which is shared with 2 members of the staff.
    We work very hard from 9 am to 11 pm and need some help keeping up with the cabins and the restaurant's housekeeping and mantainance.
    Ideally, we are looking for 1 girl. No couples.
    Your tasks would include mainly cleaning and housekeeping and we will ask for 4 to 5 hs of work per day, in exchange of food and accomodation. Sometimes we will cook for you and sometimes you will have to cook for yourself with the groceries provided, it´s hard to predict how our days are going to be. The hours of work will be rotating depending on our needs as there is no fixed time. Could be very early in the morning or late at night, after the night shift is over around 11pm.
    We are located 27 km away from the city, in the middle of the Valley, and because of that we don't receive services in the traditional way, that means that we have electricity from 9 am to 2 pm and then from 6pm to 1 am. We use wood for heating up, which means that carrying wood is an everyday task for all of us and we don´t have Wi Fi, although we do have very good phone signal (4G).
    We´ve got 48 dogs that we care for. who live in the kennel next to the house.
    We are all friendly, open minded people and love to have new people over! The nature around our house is amazing, surrounded by mountains, forest, frozen peatbog and lots of snow. We are 7km away from the biggest Ski Centre of the area if you are interested in these sports! If you are looking to disconnect for a while, come over and try this out! we come and go to the city everyday and we have no problem in assisting you if you need anything from there.
    I hope you are up for the challenge at the End of the World ;)

    -----------------------------

    Hola! Mi nombre es Lucia y vivo en el centro Invernal, en Ushuaia, Argentina, donde realizamos diferentes actividades turísticas como Trineos tirados por perros, Motos de nieve, Caminatas en raquetas, Esquí de fondo, también tenemos un restaurante y algunas cabañas para alquilar. Aparte de esto, también hospedamos viajeros en nuestro Refugio de montaña, el cual es compartido con 2 miembros del Staff.
    Nosotros trabajamos mucho, desde las 9 am hasta las 11 pm, recibimos aproximadamente unos 70 turistas por día y por esto necesitamos ayuda con la mantención de la limpieza del restaurant y las cabañas. Se le pediria a la voluntaria que mantenga la limpieza antes y despues de los turnos laborales, siendo estos horarios rotativos. A veces pueden ser bien temprano a la manana o tarde a la noche, despues de las 11hs cuando se retiran los turistas.
    De preferencia, estamos buscando a una mujer.
    Sus tareas incluirían más que nada limpieza y mantenimiento, pedimos por 4 a 5 hs de trabajo diario a cambio de casa y alojamiento. A veces podremos tener el tiempo para cocinarles y otras veces tendrán que cocinarse ustedes con la comida provista.. es díficil predecir cómo serán nuestros días.
    Estamos ubicados a 27 km de la ciudad de Ushuaia, en el medio del Valle y por esta causa, no recibimos los servicios de manera tradicional. Esto significa que tenemos electricidad de 9 am a 2 pm y luego de 6 pm a 1 am. Usamos leña para calentarnos, con lo cual hachar leña es una tarea diaria para todos nosotros. Por otro lado, como no nos llega la electricidad tampoco tenemos Wi Fi, aunque tenemos muy buena señal de teléfono e internet movil 4G.
    Tenemos 48 perros, que viven en un canil al lado del refugio. Somos personas amigables, de mente abierta y nos encanta recibir gente. La naturaleza que nos rodea es increíble, montañas, bosques, turbales congelados y mucha nieve! Si estás buscando desconectar, venite y probanos! Estamos a tan solo 7 km del Cerro Castor donde se puede esquiar o hacer snowboard.
    Espero que estén preparados para este desafío en el Fin del Mundo.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Helping with Tourists
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Trying out the mountain life on the southest city of the world is already quiet an exciting event, but also getting to learn the Argentinian way of life, our traditions such as the famous Mate and the gatherings are interesting things to experience, in my opinion. Ushuaia is a very safe place and receives many tourists at all times of the year so it´s a good place to live a nice, easy going life.

  • Help

    Help

    We need someone energetic and proactive that can take care independently of the house´s mantainance, meaning keeping the common spaces clean and organized, the salamander warm and keep up with whathever is needed (cleaning products for example) so we can get it for you.
    Also, the person helping would be preparing the rooms for the guests that are coming, as well as tidying up after they leave.

    We could also have other kind of jobs that are related with the improvement of the house, such as painting and other assisted handyman jobs, as well as helping out in the restaurant if necessary.

    Nothing too extreme, but it´s important that you are aware and willing to help out with these kinds of jobs. Reality is, here, we are all multi-function people and we are looking for someone that enjoys learning new tasks and wants to see this grow.

    We expect 4 to 5 hours of work per day, 5 days a week in exchange of food and accomodation.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, spanish or portuguese.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd be sharing the room with someone from our staff. The house has a fully equiped kitchen and a shared toilet. No wi fi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There´s plenty of Mountains and forest to explore in your time off and we will help you out in whatever you need to enjoy your stay here. There´s a big Skiing Centre 7 km away from here as well. There is power from 9 am to 2 pm and from 6 pm to 1 am.
    We can´t offer much luxuries, but everyone that comes here is stunned by the beauty of the nature around us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 to 5 hs per day, 5 days a week.


Host ref number: 147968636187