House decorating help



Favourited 181 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are Mark and Paul, together with Toby our black Labrador/X. We have bought a house in Eymet in the Dordogne area of SW France and opened for our 1st season in April 2019.

    We lived in London for 20+ years: Paul was a secondary school Deputy Head Teacher, specialising in History and Classics. Mark was an retail buyer and product manager.

    Toby our Labrador/X is our pride and joy - he is now 4 years old but is still very puppy like - he likes to play with his toys, brings you a cuddly toy when you come home, and enjoys countryside walks. He and his 8 siblings were rescued with their mother at 1 day old, and has become a huge part of our life.

    You should therefore have experience of being in a house with a dog !

    We moved to France in 2015, and rented a house for 3 years in which we ran a B&B and so we are now excited to have bought our own house.

    Eymet is a large village, around 30 mins south of Bergerac and 1hr30 east of Bordeaux. The village itself has lovely bars, restaurants, and small shops, as well as a weekly market. There are lots of lovely places to visit in the local area,

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Workawayers would have plenty of time to explore the magnificent area of this part of SW France. We have 2 x cars, both insured for any driver, as well as 2 x mountain bikes. The area is great for cycling, running, walking.

    We are a friendly sociable couple and we hope would enjoy your stay with us, as well as enjoying the area in which we live

  • Help


    We are looking to host a single person or couple in January and February 2020 - to help us continue with the decorating work we need to do in our house. We need to sand the floors of 2 x B&B guest rooms, and our guest sitting room, and then varnish them. We also need to paint the staircase, and ideally, lay a carpet in the 3rd guest bedroom.

    As well as decorating help, it would be great if workawayers are willing/able to take Toby for a walk sometimes.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English (native), French (learning as fast as possible !!)

  • Accommodation


    Our house is split over 2 floors :

    On the Ground floor is an entrance hall, kitchen, living room/dining room, conservatory, as well as our bedroom/shower room

    On the 1st floor are 3 x bedrooms, each with ensuite shower room/WC and also a guest sitting room

    The garden is around 20m long, with paving and gravel and planting. Walled and fenced (no grass or hedges)

    Workawayers will have their own bedroom and bathroom on the 1st floor, but will of course have access to the whole house as we will not be "open" as a B&B until the new season starts in April 2020.

    We look forward to sharing our house with you - Paul is a great cook, but he would love to have someone help with cooking from time to time

    Mark is a hopeless cook, but is good at loading the dishwasher, washing up and serving a cold beer or wine to the chef !

    Please note the WHOLE house AND garden are non-smoking. There is good wi-fi throughout the house. We have full HD TV in our sitting room

    We are not vegetarians and enjoy cooking meals with chicken/red meat, so if you are a vegetarian, we would not be right hosts for you. We enjoy the fine wine that France has to offer so tee-totallers would also not be the right fit with us.

    We try to be neat and tidy - (as much as one can be with a young Labrador) and bearing in mind that we are doing work on the house !! and so we are looking to accommodate workawayers who are of a similar outlook.

    The house is a 2 min walk to the centre of the village which has lovely bars, restaurants and small shops

    We have so far hosted 2 x workaway couples, and both times, we very much enjoyed the experience. Indeed, the second couple enjoyed staying with us so much, that over the course of 2016, they stayed with us on 4 x different occasions !!

    We hope to offer an enjoyable, friendly household and hope you will come and stay with us

    Mark & Paul & Toby

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have 2 x mountain bikes that we can lend you to help explore the area, however to fully benefit from the area, it would be best if you had your own transport. Our garden has space for a motorbike to be safely stored at night and there is lots of free parking right outside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day, 5 days per week

Host ref number: 146192134865