Lend a hand around our young family home in Barcelona City, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/10/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family living in a big apartment in a residential area in Barcelona City.

    As native born Barcelonians, we are able to share our almost 35 years experiences of the surprising ways that this city offers to the visitors.

    Cesar and I (Marie) are well-traveled. Prior to becoming parents we lived and traveled together or separately many places. Many of these trips were funded by living in house-sharing situations - we are used to sharing our space with non-family members and people with a different culture to our own. Also I had 2 Workaway experiences as a volunteer.

    Eight months ago, we had our baby and as a new inexperienced parents, we are a little overwhelmed by the whole situation. Cesar works many days and also travels a lot and I work from home with the computer.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are looking for cheerful, friendly and social Workawayers that want to help us with the daily duties such as cleaning, laundry, shopping and socializing with everyone and enjoy the time in Barcelona. We cannot promise that we have lots of time to spend with you - sadly our combined lives are too busy -. We provide everything for you to make your own breakfast. Lunch would need to be prepared for your own, but dinners you can join us always you want, we will be very happy to share with you all, as we are a cook lovers. We also happy to exchange languages if you come here to learn Spanish or Catalan and also you can join us when we make an excursion. We like the mountain and the beach, and we like also spend time with friends. Sometimes they come our place to dinner, of course you going to be a member of our family.

  • Help

    Help

    Other than that, where we really need the help is with keeping the house clean and tidy, sometime taking care the dog (my father’s dog visits sometimes) or the garden or our child. (As I am a stay at home parent would be at home with the baby when he is here, so no "lone care" of our kid is requested). But definitely all that help with the daily works will allow me to better organize my work time while feeling confident thanks to you!
    We won't demand too much of you, any help you can give would be very welcome. We do expect our volunteers to work the minimum hours stated as that is only fair. Average work required will be 3-4h a day. You can help us better in the morning or sometime in the afternoon or a little both. You (and us) choose and you can change day after day.
    The rest of the time, you would be free to do what you like without having to give us an account! We are a very easy and laid back family.

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have a private double room with a double bed, large wardrobe, shared bathroom, internet/wifi and Netflix included.
    We live almost in the center of Barcelona, so all city is at your fingertips! In our neighborhood there are lots of local facilities nearby: cinema, clothes, coffee, restaurants, sports center, gym and big parks. And the beach it’s not far away by walking distance.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I want someone who is independent, flexible and accommodating, cheerful, chatty and happy and doesn't worry they have worked half an hour longer than stated as it works both ways and there will be times when you will have extra time off. I prefer an honest and fun person who understands that it requires mutual un-derstanding, respect and honesty
    You must speak English fluently; French or Spanish also works, it does not have to be your native language. We are looking for someone to start now for a MINIMUM of 2 Months. If the arrangement works well for both parties, this could become a long term hosting opportunity.
    We conduct video INTERVIEWS before we accept Workawayers. Please share your number or skype ID or whatsApp, we will happy to meet you.
    Thanks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 142942627261