Come and help us to restore our house on the beautiful Hållnäs, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 71 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple in our mid thirties with our 3 year old son, living with two cats, some chickens, and small herd of sheep on an old farm. The beautiful Hållnäs peninsula, located in the municipality of Tierp between Uppsala and Gävle, is famous for its nature reserves, old farming history and ancient remains from the viking age. We love the quiet and simple life, close to nature and in tune with the four seasons. Our work on the farm involves, in addition to the daily chores, repairing and doing maintenance on our old buildings and starting new exciting projects, such as building a new chicken pen, restoring the old bee hives and breaking new grounds for a garden plot, and maybe even a small greenhouse.

    We have a lot of ideas and dreams on how we can be more sustainable and live from what we can produce ourselves. With your help we may be able to expand our live stock with other kinds of animals and start to grow our own food. We would love if someone who likes the outdoors and to get a little dirty can help us make our dreams come true. Please contact us for more details and information.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn about Swedish living and the simple life on a farm, the nature surrounding us, the woods and the ocean. The unique north faced coastline of Sweden offers some really nice experiences. Animals, ours and wild ones, and their ways of living. You can learn about the life of fishermen and woodsmen in our and nearby villages from ancient history to the present. We can guarantee that you will see the great Sea Eagle roaming the sky, and the early riser may catch a glimpse of moose and deer, some times even right outside of the house.

  • Help

    Help

    Work of the day may depend on weather and the state of our active projects. We have a lot going on, but this is a few examples of the type of help we need:

    Fence building
    Painting
    Build chicken pen
    Build wood shed
    Gather firewood
    Garden plot
    Build a greenhouse
    … and more

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have small cabin/house here on the farm where our dear helpers will stay. It was once used as a small bakery, and for laundry. Back in the day, the farmer family used to life here during the summer. The kitchen is equipped with an electric stove, microwave oven, coffee maker, refrigerator with freezer compartment. There is also a wood stove and baking oven.

    We will provide you with three meals a day for the working days. There is a store nearby (bicycle distance) to buy food for the weekend or if there is anything special you might want. Some days we also do larger shopping trips. We aim to cook and have lunch together, so the lunch break will be a real break. Breakfast and dinner you make yourselves in the cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please ask us if there is something you wonder about.

    Within walking distance there is a lovely little fishing port, a nature reserve with a huge rubble field, and viking burial grounds. Hike in the forests and take a swim in the ocean. Visit the nature reserves and bird sanctuaries.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

The cabin, where you will be staying.
Nature reserve in sunset
Nature reserve in sunset
Nearby fields
Barn and wood shed
The sheep and goat pen in the morning mist
Nearby fields
The main house
Stone beach
The nature reserve
The nearby fishing village
The sheep and goat pen
The family
The nearby fishing village
The animals in the sunrise

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 142669368265