Help needed with an outdoor project and home in Portugal



Favourited 250 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Hi, I am Mandy and English and my husband is Philippe and he is Dutch, we have been in Portugal for over 25 years. We have had a great summers for the last 4 years with our workaways here in Portugal, So we would like to do it again. We love to socialise and meet new people from all over the world.

    Philippe is a landscape gardener and last year we started to extend our garden further by building a zen garden with a pond and waterfall, plus an outside lounge area. Since then we have built a further 2 areas, but there is still a lot of planting to do so we would like to finish the garden areas. There is always something to do in the garden !! If you like painting, the hot tub area needs a refurbishment and we are planning a new outside bathroom too.

    So we would like people who are all-rounders and can turn their hands to anything, some experience with gardening would be useful.... Handy with a paintbrush, and enjoys working outside.

    Due to my cancer treatment, I cannot work as much as I need to, hence why we need extra help, Philippe cannot run 2 business's all by himself and take care of me.

    We have a very calm approach to life and business. Our home is very tranquil, in a wonderful area of Portugal. We are Buddhists and so we kindly ask that you respect this if you decide to choose us.

    So if you are fun and energetic and up for a new challenge, we look forward to hearing from you :o)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We both love to meet new people our home used to be a guesthouse so we are used to having people come and stay.

  • Help


    Things are shaping up nicely outside with the new garden etc, but we ran out of time this summer. So we would like to finish off the garden areas and put in a new living wall.. The hot tub area needs a refurbishment too.

    It is very important that you can cook and also drive. This will make life more flexible for you, as there are often times when there is no work so you will have plenty of time to go out and about and explore and have your own time. We do not want this to be all work and no enjoyment.

    So lots of great things to do :) throughout our year.

    People have asked why we are looking into volunteers, and I was unsure whether to put this on our page but best just to put it out there, I have terminal cancer and get tired very quickly so I cannot work as much as I used to, so we thought we would give it a try. So far it has been great and our volunteers have really helped us.

    Plus it is such a beautiful area and we are so fortunate to live here we think it is so nice to share it with others.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, German, Portuguese

  • Accommodation


    You would have your own double bedroom with wifi. There is also plenty of outside space so if you want to pitch a tent or a camper you would be most welcome. Our house is small but very comfy all on one level, during the summer we spend most of our time outside. we have an outdoor dinning room and lounge plus a hot running shower and jacuzzi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is beautiful and close to some amazing beaches, close to Palmela, Setubal, and Lisbon is only 30 minutes always, so plenty of places to go and explore and enjoy your time.
    We both love to meet new people our home used to be a guesthouse so we are used to having people come and stay.
    We look forward to meeting you

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hrs a week

Cole painting the supports for the new roof
Hauke our new friend from Germany
Marc doing a great painting Job, everything looks Great
Peters farewell lunch
Jackson and James, the fencing looks awesome
Lily and I relaxing in the hot tub after a long day making beds and cleaning
James and Jackson doing the new fencing
construction well underway
Dan and Manda helped to plant out some of the new Garden and did a fabulous job in the potting Area it looks fantastic
Philippe and Peter making flower boxes for a penthouse garden
construction of the Hammock garden

Host ref number: 392399152723