Help out on our farmstead in Wildomar, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 301 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/05/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1190

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi I'm Tracy! My husband, Jim, and I are your hosts. My 23-year-old daughter and 21-year-old son live here as well. We have a small family farm (one acre/0.4 hectare) in Wildomar, CA where we raise animals (chickens, guinea, turkeys, ducks, and a pig). We are a smoke-free/drug-free home and try to live a healthy lifestyle. We are easygoing and have enjoyed fun and friendship with most of our guests.

    Jim is really into health and fitness. He works out at least 5 days a week and eats "clean" (except when we are on an ice cream kick). His interests are softball, gardening, investing, and health. Tracy loves camping, games, and puzzles. We prefer helpers who are self-motivated. We have a clear work list, but we're very flexible with how tasks are accomplished.
    We are SHORT TERM hosts, accommodating our guests for up to two weeks with occasional exceptions (when the work quality is great). We prefer guests who are 22 and up simply because a little life experience usually gives people time to develop good work habits, manners, awareness of taking care of their own stuff, and an increased capacity to consider others. If you already have these qualities, feel free to contact us even if you're younger. We have LOVED being hosts and have made many new friends of all different ages.

    THE Food: Everyone seems to have a particular diet here from dairy-free to vegan to carnivore. So they all cook separate meals. We've found what works best is to take our guests shopping and you can choose your own food. Besides having all of the basics here (onions, garlic, olive oil, salt, spices, bread, sandwich spreads) and a shelf of dry goods we contribute $50/week toward groceries and that has been sufficient for many of our guests, but you may need to supplement the grocery budget.

    THE TASKS. Expect to spend a total of 25 hours working on the property. In addition to daily animal care, we have a project list to work from. Some of the projects on the list are are preparing and planting the garden, landscaping ideas/help, building a fodder system (sprouts for the animals), decorating inside the home, etc.. We also have a vintage camper that needs restoring. If you're handy with metal and wood work, we'd be open to a longer term stay for working on this project. We are always open to our guests ideas as well. In the past some of our guests have done gardening, built composting bins, repaired sprinklers, painted and put flooring in a shed, set up a drip system, built a pig house, designed an indoor/outdoor pen for the pig, roofed our chicken pens, trimmed trees, painted fences, painted inside the house, built animal shelters, done landscaping, completed household chores and cooking, and more.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are open to sharing all sorts of knowledge. Professional/Career, local sights, heath information, animal care, English language practice, etc. We have a list of places to consider visiting while you're in Southern California. We can tell you some of the other stays our guests have done before and after coming to us if you're interested in having multiple work away experiences while in the area. We are also open to showing our visitors some of our favorite places in the area although we only make time to accompany our visitors on 1-2 outings during a 2 week stay.

  • Help

    Help

    Our helpers provide animal care for chickens, guinneas, turkeys, ducks, and pig. This includes feeding, watering, and raking pens. We need help restarting our garden with repairing our drip watering system, preparing the soil for planting, weeding, and building raised gardening beds. We are currently wanting to extend our pig pen, by adding a little door to her roofed pen so she can get into the yard and nap in the sun.

    We have a project list to work from and are always open to our guests ideas as well. In the past some of our guests have built composting bins, repaired sprinklers, set up a drip system, weeded the garden, built a pig house, roofed our chicken pens, trimmed fruit trees, painted inside the house, built animal shelters, done landscaping, completed household chores and cooking, and more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Yo estoy aprendiendo español. Quisiera practicar español cada semana.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a large, one level home with a couple of spare rooms and a swimming pool in the back yard. Most of our visitors have said the home is a highlight because of its size and comfort. However, it is not extravagant. The bathroom is shared between 2 bedrooms so may be shared with another workaway helper.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Although we live in a rural area, it is close to a lot great places.
    WALKING DISTANCE: There is a small market/gas station a couple blocks from the house. In another direction, there is a small strip mall with a Market, pizza shop, & taco shop. A little further is a cute but expensive coffee shop.
    A LITTLE FURTHER: Southern California's wine country (Temecula) is 15-20 minutes away, you can drive (or take a bus) to the beach or the mountains in about an hour. We live between San Diego, Los Angeles, and Palm Springs - each of those cities is about an hour drive. The closest shopping mall is 10-15 minutes away. As for nightlife, Temecula has some options, but San Diego or LA are not too far. It would be best if you had a car, but otherwise there is public transportation... However, the US doesn't have great public transportation especially in smaller cities and rural areas. Uber or Lyft would be next best. Also, if you'd like, we can take some outings together.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Plenty of space and bandwidth to work from home here.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 141411364771