Fun projects at a homestead outside Washougal, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    95.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am accepting only those who are fully vaccinated against COVID-19.

    Come visit the great Pacific NW! Enjoy 7 acres out in the woods 50 minutes from Portland, OR and in the Columbia Gorge. There are lots of big trees and a sweet creek that runs through the property. It's not a working farm just a big homestead that needs some Love. I have a cob sanctuary, we are nurturing a ton of raised beds, ducks, maintaining solar and PV systems, a small orchard and lots of other fun stuff. I try to match projects with your interests and there are no deadlines or stuff that has to get done. It's a quiet and nurturing space. There is one private living space for helpers and plenty of space to throw down tents. Expectations are to be respectful of yourself and others, clean up after yourself, be wild, rest, cook, laugh, hike, nap, work, have fun, be compassionate, tolerant, patient, and love. I ask that you put in max 25 hours a week but we are flexible. Please email us if you are interested and include the dates that you are considering. I am open to long term stays all year long. If you respond please include your time-frame and how long of a stay you are looking for?

    We can’t accommodate trailers, buses, camper vans, RVs, dogs or other animals.

    We are at least 20 minutes by car away from Washougal, WA (the nearest town). There is no public transportation and biking would be very sketchy. 50 minutes from Portland by car. You either have to have a car or a drivers license. There is internet but it is slow and unreliable. It's important that you have current health insurance ().

    I am accepting only those who are fully vaccinated against COVID-19.

    Love,

    Paul☮💜😻🌈
    he/him/dude

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn basic organic gardening techniques and how to homestead in the PNW. We will be doing tasks together.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Everything to do with living out in the woods and farming. Helping with fruit trees, raised beds, ducks (just for eggs), trail maintenance, and maintenance in general.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'm interested in all languages and in sharing English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Independent space suitable for 2 if you like cozy and/or bedrooms in the main house. Camping in the summer. We work out whatever suits you best.

    We share organic food. Sometimes we eat together. Guests have their own kitchen and prepare most of their own food which is provided. We work it out together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It's best if you have a car. My place is close to Portland (45 minutes) and to the Columbia Gorge.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    DSL. So it's not fast but mostly reliable.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. We work it out together.


Host ref number: 141189842959