Native French Speakers to join our family in York, UK


United Kingdom

Favourited 61 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges


 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    We are a Swiss/Palestinian/German family living in a converted barn, next to a small forest, 6 miles from the gorgeous medieval city of York in the UK’s most beautiful county o Yorkshire. If you love peace and quiet, yet like to be within a short distance from the museums, galleries, theatres and music concerts of York, with amazing countryside within reach too, our home is the perfect base from which to explore the north of England, Scotland and beyond.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    York is an incredible city steeped in Viking, Roman and Medieval history. There is also a vibrant music scene and at different times in the year there are festivals in film, literature, ideas and there are always incredible open lectures at York University available to all. However you may just need some time in the countryside, with a loving and interesting family! We can help you practice your English, my husband and I are trained life coaches but can also help you define your career path or mentor you as you write a business plan ( we’ve worked in large and small corporates as well as being entrepreneurs). The help I need is quite light so if you wanted to study in York and just be around to help at specific times, that would also be fine.

  • Help


    We have two sons aged 10 and 14. They are both musical (piano, guitar, drums) artistic and love to be outdoors biking and and gardening. We are looking for a native French speaker to come for 2-3 weeks in August. We will be moving house end August so the help I need is packing up the house and helping me keep on top of gardening and cleaning before we sell/rent out our home. The ideal workaway would be French speaking, a musician (piano, guitar) and/or an artist as both boys wish to improve their pencil sketching skills. I might ask you to cook, garden, help around the house with cleaning and packing boxes. It would be a max of 3 hours a day, 5 days a week.
    Ideal start date 1st August.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, Arabic

  • Accommodation


    A bedroom with a comfortable sofa bed, reading chair and wardrobe. You will use the family bathroom (although the kids and my husband and I have our own bathrooms too) . During your stay you are welcome to join us for all our meals or eat the food we’ve prepared at a time that suits you.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a little secluded but there are bus stops about 1 mile away. We have bikes you can use. There is so much to see and do in and around York...

    We are a relaxed family. We love nature, love reading and hanging out. We like exploring too. The kitchen and living room are open plan and we don’t really watch tv. The kids love to play music (guitar, piano, drums) and we spend a lot of time outdoors. We usually nibble for breakfast and lunch but prepare and eat dinner together around 6pm. The boys sleep by 9pm. The weekends are usually quite unplanned and spontaneous.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours per day, 4-5 days per week

Host ref number: 137584313774