Barn cottage, woods and gardens close to the North Norfolk coast, UK

Country

United Kingdom

updated  

Favourited 392 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    78.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am moving from London back to Norfolk to live in an old farm house on a 2 acre sight of gardens and trees with barns. Its about 10 miles from the Valley a d 5 to the sea.
    I'll need help creating the gardens and landscaping, so enthusiastic gardeners and carpentry skills are
    high on my list of 'appreciated and needed'. I also need a bit of a hand getting the house sorted.
    It's a bonus point if u're happy to make a few good nourishing vegetable meals.
    It's a mixture of things and a great adventure!
    There would be trips to the Valley but not to do much as it's not poss to stay there in winter months. It's definitely a great summer space.

    ABOUT ME... l am Diana. l am an artist working mainly in documentary film and radio. I write, paint and am also a musician and qualified garden & landscape designer following bio-dynamic principles.

    PERIODS OF HELP & STAYS: Work months are all year round potentially, usually for stays lasting on average between 2-4 weeks.

    ABOUT THE AREA: Briggate is a village close to the atmospheric old market town of North Walsham. Also close to Happisburgh a d Waxham on the coast and the famous Wroxham Broads.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Help

    Help

    l am always open to eco-incentives and ideas for creative projects. l am happy if artists/writers/musicians want to help out whilst getting on with their own projects, so long as the set work hours are fulfilled. Carpentry, construction and chainsaw are great bonus skills and much needed!
    We welcome concious people who respect the environment, are self-motivated, can do thorough jobs, can spend time on their own if necessary, and also get along with whoever is around.
    The help is variable and constantly changes with the seasons; the busy time starts from March.
    NB. tree maintenance
    chain sawing but only if u have experience and work at your own risk. I have petrol and electric chain saws.

    Excessive drinking is definitely a no-no, and there is a non-smoking indoor policy.
    The help period is 5 hours a day for 5 days a week. Length of stays are usually between 2 weeks to 1 month (longer stays are negotiable).

    BENE...Is a 3 year old amazingly clever and gentle dogs who loves everyone. He's a real bonus to the stay.

    THANKS FOR READING!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your own cosy room in an old farmhouse.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is magical...close to the Weavers Way and Norfolk Broads and coast. A short walk to Worstead train station then two stops to Norwich or a few stops to Cromer and Sheringham on the coast. Coast hopper buses go all along the coast. Its a walkers a d cyclists paradise!

    WHAT'S MOST NEEDED:
    Carpentry work, experience with chainsaw and strimmer, pruning, wood structures need building, a 1930s sunken stone garden needs excavating, dry-stone walling, garden bed digging and planting. General home help like putting up pictures and shelves etc...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5




Host ref number: 13717464694a