Come exchange some Japanese with our Italian family, help me learning Japanese language and cuisine in Albino, Italy



Favourited 41 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 15 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    First of all, I want to introduce myself. I’m Veronica, I’m a 22 years old girl and I’m currently studying philosophy at the university in Milan. My hobbies are activities like watching movies, listening to all kind of music (I often go to live-concert) and reading; but I also like outdoor activities like going for a walk in the mountain, skiing, swimming etc.
    I live with my family in Albino, a town near Bergamo (which is 50 km from Milan, approximately 1 hour by car). In my family we are five: me, my mum, my dad and my two little brothers (one is seven, and the other one is twelve).

    We are willing to host an individual who would help me learning Japanese language and cuisine. We would appreciate hosting a person who is quite open-minded, enthusiastic, hard-working, able to handle children and reliable as we think that the best relationships grow on trust and respect.
    The duration of your stay would be two to six weeks.

    I’ve always liked to meet new people from different cultures. I’ve been to England quite a lot and I’ve stayed as a host in different families so I know what the struggles of being far from home could be. We are also used to have people around the house as we’ve hosted people here quite often in the past. Therefore, even though we’d love to share with you a lot of time, we also know that privacy and spending time alone is important so we will always respect and listen to your needs.

    I have quite a lot of free time and a driving license so I’d gladly show you around, most of all in the north of Italy. Even though we are not living in the city, the public transport is efficient enough so you can go quite anywhere by yourself too.
    During the weekend I use to go out with my friends, they are all very friendly and nice so if you want to meet new people you’d be welcome to come with us.
    Our place is also near to the mountains where you can go for a walk and enjoy the wonderful nature whenever you want; if you are coming during winter there are also ski-resorts nearby.

    We are very sorry but right now we are not able to host couples.
    Please notice that there are two children around so sometimes it can be quite noisy.
    Pets are not allowed too.

    Please feel free to ask me any question, thank you for your time, I hope to hear about you soon!


  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I regularly enjoy cultural and social events, that here are abundant, and would be delighted to accompany you in this journey of yours. We would actually feel honored to be ambassadors of Italian culture and society to you. Our knowledge of Italian culture is quite deep, deriving not only from an academic point of view, but also, and more importantly, by actually having travelled within the country. In addition, if you are interested, I could also teach you Latin too.
    We know that Japanese history and culture are unique, but so are Italian ones and we would be delighted to show them first hand to you in a familiar environment, which is one of the pillars of our social culture.
    I feel that cultural exchange is one of the most powerful way to grow as individuals, and to broaden our views.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The help required is 5 hours per day, 5 days a week. The weekends are free and if you want to go for a trip just ask, we’ll most likely go with you if you want.
    What we might need you for:

    Language practice: I need someone who will help me learn Japanese and about Japanese culture, most of all by talking with me, and I’d be happy to help you with Italian or Latin in exchange. I’m a beginner so you need to know a little bit of English or Italian too, otherwise I’m afraid that we wouldn’t be able to communicate. My parents and siblings speak only Italian and a little bit of English, it’d probably be a good way for you to learn it and practice.

    Cooking\shopping: I’d like to improve my cooking, so someone who knows Japanese cuisine enough to help me cooking and to teach me would be very useful. Obviously, in exchange, we could teach you Italian cuisine too as we are food lovers.

    Babysitting: Sometimes we might need you to help us with children by keeping them company while we are at work or school.

    Gardening: Depending on when you are staying we would need your help with some easy-to-do gardening: mow the lawn, water the flowers, keep the garden tidy by removing leaves etc. The garden is not too big, so it would not require a lot of time.

    Help in the house\house maintenance: As a matter of respect, we’d like to ask you to keep clean the place where you are staying. You’d probably be asked to help us with light housework like tidying up after meals and with some cleaning too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We live in a two-floors house with a garden.

    While we live upstairs, you will be staying downstairs by yourself.

    There are four rooms: A double-bed bedroom, a kitchen with all you may need to cook by yourself, the kitchen is connected to a living room, a private bathroom with shower too and a storage room. There are also unlimited wi-fi as well as local cable access (LAN) and television. We will provide you the most privacy possible as we will not enter in your place without asking, even though sometimes we will need to use some facilities which are downstairs as, for example, the printer.

    We will provide you 3 meals per day: breakfast, lunch and dinner but, depending on your needs, you will probably need to buy some food for yourself. You’ll have your own fridge to store it.

    Especially during the weekend we like to spend more time eating together, sometimes with friends too, and enjoy good Italian wine or craft beer so it won’t be a problem if you drink too, obviously within a reasonable limit.

    We don’t smoke, but we hosted people who did, so don’t worry as you can always use the garden if you want which is quite comfortable as you are living downstairs.

    We have some house rules that I will send to any interested workawayer, so you will know what to expect and what we expect from you to have the best possible time together.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you arrive I’m going to come to greet you and pick you up from the airport if you are landing in Milan as Orio al Serio (BGY) airport is only 20-25 minutes far from home by car; while Malpensa (MXP) is approximately 90 minutes far.

    From where we live by means of transport you can go quite anywhere, just to mention some places:
    - Bergamo, which upper town is actually an UNESCO site. It would take you 30-40 minutes.
    - Milan and Brescia, It would take you 1h30-1h45 minutes.
    Venice, Verona, Turin, Como, Genova are not that far too, so they would be nice to visit during your stay. As I said before I will gladly take you - when possible- where you want by car, which will often be much faster.

    Here in Albino you can enjoy a lot of outdoor activities: hiking, biking, walking in the mountains, skiing, skating etc. There is also a gym as well as a swimming pool at two minutes by foot from home.

    In the town center there are a chemist, a supermarket and all the facilities you may need during your stay. It will take you from 10 up to 20 minutes by foot too reach them.
    If you want we can also lend you a bike to move around.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We both have wifi and LAN (cable connection) which works quite well.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 136537527738