Just our small family of friends and live in Barcelona, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 600 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/08/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    233

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 25 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    ***Edit April 2020***

    Sorry guys! We haven't used this website in a long time! The team got splitted some time ago: Jordi moved and Sergi & Raúl went to live to other cities because of work, so the house kept empty. Now, after some time, Raúl & Sergi came back to the city. Although we don’t live together anymore, we are willing to gather together at home again after this COVID19 emergency is gone, and we extend our hospitality again to you! (The house is quite big for Raúl being alone, so be welcome!).

    ***************

    Hi! I'm Raúl, from Barcelona. I live 20 minutes far from downtown BCN with two friends. Last summer I had my first workaway experience spending 3 months in the USA with a host family. It was so great that I want to pay my karma back by offering the same kindness to anyone interested in coming and visiting Spain. My two roommates, Jordi and Sergi, has also experience both hosting and being guests to people from Europe.

    Sergi is an architect, Jordi an engineer and I'm a soccer coach. We are gone the most part of the day, or stay busy with paperwork at home. We usually spend the evenings at home, sharing time in the sitting room conversating. It is usual to have my younger sister around with more of her friends from time to time. We enjoy meeting with our people at home.

    We enjoy doing some sport, so you can join us in whatever activity we plan (if we get time to!).

    Just let us know if you would like to meet us!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Plain simple life here, nothing fancy, nothing tough. The experience would be to be part of a small family of friends and live like any other person around. Just a bit of normal life in Barcelona.

    Plus you can always improved your Spanish and learn some Catalan.

  • Help

    Help

    We live in a semi-attach brick house with a patio, but no yard, so there isn't much work about maintenance (luckily). The main help we can use is keeping things tidy and clean, as well as get some meals ready when we get back to home at evenings. There are also some home improvements pending (such as curtains), but depend on the money I have availabe... :P. The normal deal in workaway is 20-25 hours a week, but with us you'll find you will have more free time than that.

    Your main task is getting involved with us as a family of friends, so please don't make us feel like we are a hostel for visitors who. For us is not just about completing a deal.

    Language practice is also important for us, so you can teach us your language as a part of your volunteer tasks or help us to practice our English or German (just for Sergi).

    Though Barcelona is a great place to live, we just do normal life in here. No special skills are needed at home nor probably will be developed so we think we won't be the right choice for someone looking for adventures or country life. Instead, someone just willing to live for sometime somewhere else could be the right match.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There's a couple of rooms to spare now.

    As we are not asking to work many hours don't provide meals. Think as if you were another roommate who pays his part helping with the chores. Consider that we spend 100-150€ a month for a single guy, depending on what kind of food you buy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gavà is a 45,000 people town 20 minutes away from downtown Barcelona either by car or train. We live 5 minutes walk from the train station and 10 minutes car ride to the airport. Gavà has both mountains and beach. It's a small city with all the services you might need for daily use plus is conveniently close to Barcelona for more interesting stuff.

    We can provide a bicycle to make it easier to move around, and we can try to set plans together for the weekends, though most of time we are busy with studies or work. We expect someone who can make his way during the day and join us for dinner and share some time talking in front of TV as a family, as we usually do.

    We think our workaway position is suitable for people who need to dedicate time to personal projects while living with us, like studies, blogs, online work, writing, etc. Otherwise, it can be boring or uninteresting cause the tasks to be done are not a challenge or something different to learn.

    It's important that you don't see us as a bed & breakfast or as a place to 'cr. We have had bad experiences with that and doesn't bring any benefit for us having someone with that kind of plans at home, even honoring their part of the deal.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Max 3 hours / 5 days a week - no meals

Zafrilla, Raúl's family village in central Spain.
Downtown Gavà
Dinning-sitting room
Your room
Gavà's train station, 5 minutes walk from home.
Gava's local museum, right on the corner of our home.
This is Oropesa, 3 hours south from Barcelona, where we use to spend the summers.
Jordi, Sergi and Raúl.




Host ref number: 135127181436