Join a British family in their mountainside villa in Jesus Pobre, Spain



Favourited 32 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 16 days

  • Badges

    Good Host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    Hi, we are a family of 3 humans - mum, dad and daughter (15 years), 2 dogs and 11 cats, living in the Spanish countryside. We are British but have been here 16 years, we live in a small villa with private pool on the side of a mountain, the nearest village is a short walk away and there are 3 bigger towns within 10-15 minutes drive. We enjoy good food, wine, films, music and travelling. The summers are always crazy busy for us as we have multiple jobs and being in a tourist area, our work trebles at this time of year. So any extra pairs of hands to help with whatever tasks are needed would be very welcome.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a chance to stay at our mountainside villa, use our private pool, explore the local countryside and we can introduce you to Spanish or British culture depending on what you prefer. We speak English at home but have a reasonable level of Spanish and our daughter also speaks the local Valenciano dialect and she is learning French. We are happy to help you practice English as we have hosted Spanish students for 14 years so have some experience in this respect.

  • Help


    We work several jobs between us (magazine advertising sales, marketing and graphic design and a pool maintenance business) and are either out for the majority of the day but really the summer is also the best time for us to make improvements to our home so someone willing to help with basic building/labouring/gardening/decorating etc would be fantastic plus if there are 2 of you then we'd love some help with general housework and kitchen chores too. We have just started to renovate an old garage and convert it into an apartment with the intention of elderly parents moving in when the time comes. We are employing a qualified builder so really just need a capable helper. Also we would love to upgrade our current family bathroom and would undertake this project if the right person came along. Anyone with a knowledge of swimming pool cleaning will also be of interest. We have lots of plans for our home and so all skill sets would be of interest to us, depending on who comes forward would depend on which job we tackle next. Our plans include rebuilding a treehouse, digging out the well under our house to create a cellar/cinema room and replacing our roof (taking tiles off, insulating and replacing tiles), we don't expect to do all of this in one summer but would tackle a task if the appropriate helper came along (using professionals where necessary) . Our ideal scenario (although please don't let this put you off) would be one person willing to do building/labouring etc and a second person willing to do housework, laundry, shopping and meal prep, however if two want to do building/labouring then that's fine, and if you are a single traveller then you will be equally welcome as long as you are willing to do some physical work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    We are open to welcoming one or two people at once and currently we have a spare room with a single and a sofa bed but we can juggle beds around to suit whoever is coming to stay, so the accommodation is flexible. Currently you would have a shared bathroom but we are building new one was we speak so this could change. We are happy to provide breakfast (on a help yourself basis) and evening meals together - probably taking it in turns to prepare!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you have your own transport then this is a wonderful area to explore. Sadly public transport is very basic, there is a bus service to the bigger towns though. If you are over 25 with a full driving licence then we can possibly add you to the insurance on one of our cars which you can use in the afternoon or evening when its not needed. However we don't want you to feel you have to leave the house, during your time off you are welcome to use the house as your home and enjoy the pool etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a satellite internet connection which is usually around 20-30Mbps

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.8)

Host ref number: 698662982561