Family stay in Sintra, Portugal

  • Favourited 529 times
  • Last activity: 9 Jul 2023

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Olá,

    We are kika, Nuno, Sebastião (13) and Alma (8), Mel and Tobias (the dogs) and Chiquita (the cat that is pregnant now so there will be a lot of kitties in this spring).

    In 2023 i would like to take extra care of the veggie garden and need some construction and painting works in the house, if you have skills in this areas, please visit us :)

    I also need help with the daily life, cooking, cleanning, playing with the kids...

    We live in a small house, 15 min walking from the sea, in sintra. The way to the sea is up and down the hill, please check google maps if thinking about goind there with your long surf board.

    Fontanelas is not Lisbon and not close to Lisbon. It can take 2 hours to arrive to Lisbon by bus + train. In a day with good bus connection, you will need a 45 minutes ride in a bus (3,30€ each way) to arrive to Sintra city centre plus 30 minutes by train (1,44€) to arrive to Lisbon.

    There is no nigthlife in or around our village.

    We have a surf achool nearby @ 25 euros per class and they pick you at home and take you to diferent beaches .

    We live a very modest life and the persons coming to live with us must be frugal and adapt to a shared space, just one bathroom, small kitchen...

    The sleeping space we offer is one room, couple bed, closet and window.

    We don't smoke and can't have smokers in the house and garden.

    Our oldest loves gaming, science and maths, bikes, rocks, cars, engines, any skills in this area are welcome.

    The baby girl is a dancer, likes swiming, roller skates, all things movement related as well as make up, dress up, painting, drawing, baking, making slime, everything crafts related.

    Only one vegetarian in the house, no restrictions on sugar and no restrictions on media usage (screans are not a problem here). Please, be ready to be surprised on this matters. A bit of reading on sandradodd.com unschooling website migth help to get us better.

    It is very important that the persons coming to our house like children and can make a connection with our kids. If that does not happen, we will ask you to leave. You will need to connect at least with one of the kids, in one of their interests.

    We prefer to receive people that are already in Portugal or that will travel in portugal anyways, can't have tbe responsabilité of hosting someone who arrives and doesn't like it but as to stay until their fligth back.

    We like to show our village by bicycle, to show around the beaches and castles of Sintra by car (at least the free ones).

    We can give a ride to the train station to facilitate the commuting.

    We need to keep cooking in a budget to be able to receive workawayers. Please remember to bring pocket money for your personnal purcases.

    We need proactive people. I lack the sprit to go around telling people what to do.

    Thank you for reading our message until the end :)


    Cheers
    Kika

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can help with learning:
    - portuguese
    - A few nigths in Lisbon, in a students residence, if there are free rooms.
    - Food
    - 1 or 2 bycicles
    - free time to explore the area
    - free entrance in museums, pool, castles and all the activities we do together
    - ride to the train station at 8am and from the train station at 7pm
    We will go around Sintra/ Lisbon/ Cascais for visits and sea time.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help in the house.

    In 2022 i would like to take extra care of the veggie garden and need some construction works in the house, if you have skills in areas this areas will be great.

    Pet sitting, Walking the fogs.

    Project developement with the kids and baby sitting (please, interact with them and propose things to do, don't let them alone with their phones or computer all the time.)

    We are an unschooling family - no school for the kids and no curriculum at home - so our life is 24h a day with our children. Among all their activities and learning experiences we have no time left for tasks like:
    - go out with the kids and build steuctures the woods;
    - walk the dogs
    - take care of the small veggie garden;
    - paint walls
    - house cleaning
    - do the dishes
    - cook
    - videogaming
    - take out the garbage
    - hang clothes to dry
    - wash the car

    We also need help on our outings, namely to go to museums, parks, the sea with the 2 kids. Whathever we visit, you can visit too.

    We need help to develop their projects and interests, namely:
    - gaming - WII, Roblox and minecraft;
    - roll playing with puppets or shadows...
    - ride the bycicle, skate, rollers
    - dance
    - LEGO building
    - painting
    - science projects
    - dancing
    .... Something new that can be interesting... The kids are open to new projects and ideas, if you do something you love they will like to learn it. Or, sometimes, they just want someone to sit next to them with YouTube videos.

    You can choose the work is what suits you the best, we have so much to do in one day that all the help is very welcome.

    5 hours a day seams a fair amount of time to help out, it can be less or more, we really appretiate more the company than amount of the work donne.

    I also manage a tourist/ student house in Lisbon and any help with that will be very welcome.

    We really, really need help cooking in a low budget and it is very important to keep the lights off and have fast showers, we need to save a lot in this phase of our life.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We give:
    - One room
    - food
    - Internet

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live 20 minutes from Sintra, the historical village (3,50€ by bbus)
    40 minutes from lisbon.
    Surfing spots:
    2 km from praia grande
    9 km from são Julião da barra/ ericeira
    Near us there is an organic farming cooperative with many interesting trainings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Our wifi is good. We have kids so, they make noise all day.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    The van can stay at our door, in the driveway and the house can be used as a base. There are almost no cars in the street and the woods are less than one minute walking, the van can also stay there.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 134568765431

Feedback (19)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




























Extra hand in the mountains of Monchique, the heart of the Algarve , Portugal
Come and help us with rebuilding a magical space while enjoying breathtaking scenery in Colmeal, Portugal