Learn about permaculture and alternative energy, helping us in Alentejo, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 79 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

 
Join now to contact this host
  • Description

    Description

    We are a couple who are striving to live sustainably. We have some solar which we use with the grid to reduce the electricity used. Jonathan has worked on free energy devices and installs solar power Jennie does spinning, knitting and sewing. We have sattelite internet. We have 2 donkey,3 cats, 1 goats, geese and chickens. No dogs. We do not smoke.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Animal care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    There is an opportunity for the right couple who want to settle in Portugal to build a home for themselves in exchange for help. Jennie has arthiritis in knees and hips bending and kneeling are difficult.
    We live on the outskirts of a typical Portuguese village,only a couple of residents speak English an opportunity to practice the language and learn local skills, painting with lime wash base with tints, learn renewable energy, spinning, knitting. June is cork harvesting time.

  • Help

    Help

    We have now moved and have bought a house that is in the process of renovation, for which some help is required. We need to establish the gardening ready for the next planting season. The donkey ploughs.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Some Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We now have use of a neighbour's basic 2 bedroom cottage with water and cooking facility.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    30 mins from the beach at Villa Nova Millfontes. Public transport is scarce, we have a car.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hrs per day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 13198425234d