A rural farm located in Dehesa with great tradition and wonderful culture. Southern Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 49 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    23/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Marco I grew up on this farm, a typical southern spain farm were pigs are raised. The Iberian pig is world famous for its main product, Jamon. Our live oak trees produce a rare thin acorn, high in fat, that makes the Jamon such a special product.
    My parents have lived here since 1995, and still In their old age live and work on it. I now live part time at the farm and part time in Seville (about an hour away)
    The farm has a very beautiful and big “Cortijo” ( Spanish farm house) at which we constantly host people from all over the world, it has been a part of my life ever since I was 12 years old.
    We have plenty of chores with the animals and the land, the garden and the house also. Depending on the season there is more work or less, but there is always something to do.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Elderly Companionship
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak both Spanish and English, we have dinner parties with friends from all over the world, and we are located in a rural area of spain with a great tradition and wonderful culture. You will have the opportunity to meet amazing people, visit a very special part of spain and you can relax in almost absolute silence

  • Help

    Help

    Collecting wood, feeding the animals, gardening, cleaning, clearing the land, fixing fences, building amd maintaining

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have a private apartment on the other side of the house with its own bathroom. It has been recently renovated, it is quite big and has its own fire place

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Stuff to do here: hike the land, visit the local caves ( grutas de las maravillas), is it the castle, visit Seville.......

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 131318931198