Help with an altruistic project and also create hiking trails in beautiful Downeast Maine, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 98 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/09/2020

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband and I and our two small children moved up to this beautiful place in Maine in 2003. Our children are now grown. We are looking for someone or 2 to help us with social media and marketing (including videos) for an altruistic project and we are seeking help with creating a really cool hiking path on our 25 acres of woods as well as a handy person who can help with odd jobs around the house like painting, fixing etc.. I am an educator and teach among many other things, yoga, meditation, vegan/raw cooking and am interested in connecting with people and uplifting and sharing life's adventures. This part of Maine is beautiful and offers nature lovers an array of absolutely gorgeous hiking trails and mountains. My husband runs two small companies involved in energy monitoring and weather data and management. We are both interested in nature, nutrition, hiking, sustainability and spirituality and entrepreneur adventures!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Art Projects
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live on 25 acres of beautiful woods along the edge of a pond in Downeast Maine. I am an educator and teach a wide variety of things including yoga, meditation, raw food/vegan cooking. We are not far from one of the most beautiful parks in the country, Acadia National park. We can offer a beautiful 4 bedroom, 3 bath home on the edge of a fresh water pond with lovely amenities. We are involved in many local activities and also travel down the east coast often to Boston and NY. There are many opportunities to learn about our area and explore nature and life around us.

  • Help

    Help

    Looking for two or three unique people who can offer help with a cool project with marketing and social media and helping us build a data base and powerful outreach including possibly creating interesting videos to post. We are also interested in one or two people interested in creating hiking trails in the woods along our beautiful pond in Downeast Maine. Comfortable working with chain saw, raking and trimming and marking the trails. This person or people are also good at painting and helping with odd jobs around the house. .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    4 bedroom, 3 bath lovely home on the edge of a pond surrounded by nature and 25 acres of land. My husband and I live next door and so you can enjoy the house all to yourselves but be close by to our home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During time off, there are many beautiful places to hike and explore. Acadia National Park is about 50 minutes away as well as the coastline down to Deer Isle, Stonington, Castine and more. We love to hike and explore new trails during our time off. We live in an area where there are several amazing organic farms where we can get THE BEST produce. Cooking nutritious meals is one of great pleasures.
    We think a two week stay will be sufficient. If guests would like to stay longer, we can certainly discuss.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day/5 days per week


Host ref number: 131266526777