1 / 4
new host  

Join our family, help us with daily tasks and enjoy the company of our pets in Salt Spring Island, Canada

  • Favourited 13 times
  • Last activity: 3 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are John (58) and Calli my daughter (23) (who will be gone from March - April) , Kisa and Bean the dogs and Kitten and Betty the cats. We live on 10 acres on a mountain on an island between Vancouver and Victoria BC

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are here to help with language and blend you into our lives to see how we live. We have a relaxed pace to life and take time out to hike and walk everyday. If you like mountain biking like I do, let's go!

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    The place is beautiful, very quiet, with lot of wild life around. There's lots of nice walks and hikes to do in the area, and breathtaking views. We have a medium size garden and a greenhouse and always need help with weeding and building new beds.

    There is a small orchard and a woodlot where we harvest firewood. We have two dogs and two cats that love walks. Sometimes we are away for a few days so house/pet sitting could be involved. Happy to help with language learning! Can you cook ? Would love to have help with that. As well, we run a small coffee roasting business so there will be the opportunity to learn about it.

    When not working you can go to the town of Ganges and also visit the City of Victoria or Vancouver on weekends. Lots of swimming lakes and beaches in the summer.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I would love to host people who want to work on their english skills and am curious about learning new languages !!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a separate yurt where you will stay which is a shared space with my coffee roasting business. We typically work two times an week so your privacy will be good but the space needs to be kept neat and tidy. There is an outdoor shower and outhouse for your use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visit local towns, parks, and on weekend go to Victoria and Vancouver.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have very good wifi and many quiet spots to work.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lots of room to park a motorhome or van with power and water

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 362258548155

Photos

Feedback

Help with gardening and experience remote beaches and wildlife in Port Hardy, Canada
Help me with home project and explore Edmonton, Canada