Join our family of five and help with organic gardening and finishing an earthship in Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    15/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    83.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 5, 2 Australian shepherds and 2 cats on a 15 acre farm in Central lake country Ontario! We focus on growing organic heirloom non GMO seed and produce. We are working towards finishing a small earthship cabin this summer.
    We enjoy culture, art, music, sitting around the camp fire and dancing!
    We are a vegetarian household.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Primarily you will have the opportunity to learn a great deal about organic growing and seed preservation/ collection. We have very positive energy and spirit that is happy and full of life and adventure. We love our music and music exchange with other cultures.We have multiple projects on the go that tap into multiple areas of Eco-building, creative landscaping, food preserving, art, and a plethora of other tasks that will enrich helpers experience greatly.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for help 5 days a week up to 5 hours/day around the farm and with our youngest daughter.
    We always have many projects on the go but would like to focus on...
    Gardening- Building garden structures, weeding, planting harvesting, preserving, and seed saving.
    Earthship- Cobbing, framing, eco-art project
    At some point this summer we will be raising the house and pouring a basement.
    Log House- Help with finishing touches, frame windows, build deck, chinking, etc.
    Childcare- Hiking, swimming, trampoline, take kayaking, art

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two bedrooms available in our log House with shared accommodations. You are welcome to the food we grow in our gardens and welcome to camp anywhere on our 15 acres if you require more space.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have hiking trails minutes from our farm, live 1 hour from Algonquin provincial park and have many lovely lakes to swim, camp, or spend the day! We also have two kayaks and a canoe you are welcome to use as well as bicycles.
    We Live 1.5 hours from our Capital, Ottawa and have some of Ontarios best White Water Rafting near us!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 129238812155