Mission Over - Help me with some renovations around my home in Rueil Malmaison, France

Country

France

Favourited 20 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    84.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I AM NOT LOOKING FOR ANY WORKAWAYER. I ONLY LEAVE THIS ADD UP SO THAT MY WORKAWAYERS STILL HAVE MY REFERENCE. PLEASE DO NOT APPLY. THANK YOU :)

    Hey, workawayer!

    Here are the main infos about my place, my project and me.
    This is my first Workaway experience, so please tell me if I'm doing anything wrong in this presentation :)
    If you need any additional information, of course, you are very welcome to ask.

    My place :
    I live 20 minutes away from Paris (Arc de Triomphe), with a direct line. It includes the 4 minutes of walk to go to the station.
    I live in an appartment, on the 3rd floor with no elevator. You can have a separated room if needed. There might be other workawayers at the same time as you (we'll discuss this if you prefer to be the only workawayer)

    Me :
    I am a big couchsurfing fan - you can find my profile on the couchsurfing website, as Juliette Rouëssé.
    I love having people around - especially foreign people. I hosted about thirty couchsurfers during the last two months, and I loved it! The most couchsurfers I had was 9 at the same time, so I can say in terms of organization, I'm ok ;) I am a computer science engineer, and I am thinking about travelling around the world next year (planning on doing workaway!).

    My project :
    In ordred to travel, I am planning to rent my appartment, but I need to do some renovations inside of it (paint the ceiling and the walls, do some seals), and I unfortunately don't have the skills to do it, so I would love to have workawayers who can help me with that. I would really appreciate if you had previous experience or reference in that domain (I am not sure if it is something that you can ask here?)

    Other infos :
    I accept smokers, families, pets if they are not too big (and sorry, no cat because I'm allergic, unless the cat can live outside). If you are a group, and only one of you have the skills to help, I'll welcome the whole group without a problem.

    I would love to welcome you at my place!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    As I said in the presentation, I have gone through a very intense couchsurfing phase, which helped me improve some french cooking recipes ;)
    Lots of them said that they appreciated to have a lot of people from around the world in the appartment. So if you want, I can organise dinners with people from over the world (it depends on what you prefer, and the availabilities of the people of course.) Also, depending on what you prefer (but we'll discuss that by message), I will have other workawayers or not at the same time as you. My goal is that you feel at home at my place, because I know how tiring travelling can get. And my other goal is for you to meet as many people as possible if you want to!
    I can tell you stuff about French culture, and about Paris. I love visiting museums with people so if I have time, I can go with you, or at least advise you about what to see.
    French is my mother tongue, so I can definitely help you practice. I also speak english fluently, but still need to improve it, so we can both benefit of practising it. I also speak a bit of russian.
    I have hiked and travelled a bit, so I can give you tips about travelling.
    I love long conversations at night around a glass of wine (or tea, or maté, or whatever you like ;) )

  • Help

    Help

    As I was saying in the general presentation, I need to have some renovations done in my appartment.
    Don't hesitate if you need pictures or details.

    General info :
    The missions include most of the time helping me choose the right material. I will of course pay for all the expenses (material, travel expenses to go with me to get the material).
    We can determine by message the help schedule depending on what is good for both of us.
    If you think that you will need someone to help you, we can see that together. I will definitely help if I am home while you help, and I can be useful
    I would really appreciate if you have references and experience in the mission(s) that you will choose.


    There are several main "missions" :

    1) Re-painting and fixing holes in the walls and ceilings in three rooms (or in one if you only have the availability for one) The rooms have a wooden floor, so the floor needs to be protected.
    I'm giving the estimated dimensions, but don't hesitate if you want more precisions, I can go and measure it exactly.

    There are three rooms :

    Room 1 : living-room
    The living-room is around 10-12 square meters. The paint of the ceiling starts to fall down, by big pieces. There is already painting on the walls, but it is not in a good state. The mission would be to fix the holes in the walls, to take off the paint of the ceiling, and maybe of the walls if it is needed, and to re-paint.

    Room 2 : room
    The room is around 10 square meters. The state is slightly better than the living-room one, but there are the same issues (painting falling down, holes in the walls). There is a big closet that can't be moved on one of the walls.


    Room 3 : kitchen
    There is one wall that needs to be fixed, like in the 2 others rooms (holes in the wall). The ceiling is ok for now. It is about 5-6 meters long and maybe 3 meters high. The window could use re-painting.


    2) Fixing the seals

    In the bathroom
    The seal (or grout, I am not sure of the exact word), between the floor of my shower (kind of plastic) and the wall (with tills), and the seal between the sink and the wall of my bathroom would need to be fixed. So the mission would be to take the seal away, and to put some new.

    In the kitchen
    The seal between the helping plan and the wall is covered with a kind of plastic or metal joint. It is not really efficient, and the mission would be to take off this joint, and put a "regular" one under it (and maybe put back the current plastic/metal joint depending on what you think is best).


    3) Adding a shower holder in the shower room
    The configuration to add the shower holder is not very practical. The wall is straight for 1,50m, then at 1,50 m high, there is a step (the wall goes further away from the shower place). I can send you a picture if you need.
    The mission would involve coming with me to choose the shower holder, then piercing walls in the tile, and putting into place the shower holder.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French, a bit of Russian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in Rueil-Malmaison, 4 minutes away from the RER station. The RER is a kind of fast metro, and you'll be in Paris (Arc de Triomphe) in 20 min, and in the very center of Paris (near Notre-Dame) within 35 minutes.

    I work 12 min away from my place, so if there is an emergency I can be there quickly.

    We will discuss your accomodation, the presence or not of other workawayers during your stay, the shower issue, the key issue, the food you can or can't eat, etc. Keep in mind that there will be renovations going in the appartment, so maybe at the time you will stay, there will not be as many available rooms as there are in the list below.

    There are three rooms where you can sleep :

    - The living-room (a converting couch with the space for 2 people + a bed)
    - A separate room (1 bed)
    - Another separate room (1 double bed)
    I can add mattresses if there are lots of people - whether you have friends you want to help with, or if there are several workawayers (as seen earlier, we'll discuss how many workawayers there should be in the messages).

    If the work in the bathroom makes it not usable, I can drive you to my dad's place (20 min away) to have a shower every day.
    Depending on how many people are in the flat, I might or might not give you the spare keys. If you don't have them, you can leave at any time, but I (or other people) have to be home for you to be able to enter the flat. I usually come back from work around 19h.

    You can do laundries at my place (I have detergent for you :) )

    About the food :
    There will be bread, jam, butter, instant coffee (soluble) and tea in the morning. (If you need something else, like milk, orange juice, tell me).
    A meal will be provided in the evening. When I'll be there, I'll cook french meals for you as much as possible; if I'm not there, I'll leave you some stuff to eat. I'll adapt to what you can or can't eat. I personnaly eat meat, but don't hesitate to tell me if you're vegan, vegetarian, if you have any allergies or if there is stuff you don't like.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in Rueil-Malmaison, which is close to Paris (20 min to go to the Arc de Triomphe). I am 4 min away by walk from the Rueil-Malmaison station (on the RER A, direction to Saint-Germain-En-Laye). It is also 1h15 away from the Versailles Castle.

    In the city of Rueil-Malmaison, there is a nice market on Tuesdays and Sunday, and an island where the impressionists painters used to paint. The Seine (main river that goes through Paris) is 10-15 min away by feet from my place, and that part of the Seine is really beautiful. A lot of joggers go there for a run.
    There is also a castle where Napoléon Bonaparte used to live.
    I can give you tips if you want to visit around, and I love to discover the whereabouts with people.
    Don't hesitate to ask me if you need info about the transportation pass, I'll try to find the cheapest way for you to go around.
    There are buses to go around the city.

    I want you to feel as free as possible; the only constraint you will have are if you don't have a double of the keys is to check in with me for the arrival time (usually I'll just ask you to be back before midnight).
    I usually leave quite early in the morning, and come back around 19h. I sometimes come back for lunch because I don't work far away. I do enjoy the company of people in the evening, but the most important is that you make the most of your stay near Paris, so feel free about what time you're coming back home :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours a day, 5 days/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 128149476668