Help a Dutch dad with children in Vilamoura, Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 14 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a Dutch guy, 41 years old, and I work independent as a consultant across companies, mainly in Europe. When not working,I enjoy the good life in the Portuguese Algarve, and thanks to corona I can also work from the Algarve. I have two wonderful children that live with their mother in Italy. When they come to visit me, I need some help with them, as they are quite a hand full (they are 3 and 2 years old). I'm working on a project that aims to get the tourists to Portugal to actively travel around and explore the country.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Algarve is the perfect destination for sun, surf and great food, but it's also a great experience to be in a different culture. As a Dutch person, I have experienced (and am experiencing) the same, despite the fact that I lived in The Netherlands, Ukraine, Czech Republic, Romania and France before. Living in Portugal is like a "gear down", and I'm happy to share this experience to a Workawayer.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    When the children are with me, I would need some help with the daily care, like taking them to playgrounds, cooking, etc. Pretty much what a mother or older sister can do, which is not there. This should be no more than 4-5 hours per day, as they still have the afternoon nap.

    When the children are not there, I'm happy to host people, for good company, and meanwhile use someone's expertise in and around the house (gardening, painting or small DIY) or on the personal level (language exchange). Also here, it should not exceed 4-5 hours per day on average, but probably less.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    I like to learn more language, and be able to make basic conversations in different languages all over the world.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a townhouse near the sea, with 3 bedrooms. Guests will have their own room. There is a garden in the front and back of the house. It's a very safe area.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The children are raised bilingual, in Italian and Dutch, but as they go to school in Italy this language is more developed.
    In free time, there are plenty of places around to explore, the coastal line, many theme parks, and activities.
    I'm a non smoker, and guests are requested to smoke outside the house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    My wifi is 100 Mbps, very stable via Fiber. If needed, I can upgrade up to 1 Gbps, but I find the current speed quite sufficient.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 4-5 hours per day, on helping days


Host ref number: 127824681337