If you like surfing, tabletop games, yoga and fitness - come and join me in Bellfield, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 78 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    19  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on my own, work as a musician,music producer and handyman/painter/gardener but find it's great getting help and extra motivation working on my own place . I like surfing , tabletop games, yoga and fitness so as well as getting some work done, can also offer trips to the coast and group yoga sessions, as well as music jams etc, etc

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn lots of handyman skills, also as I like surfing happy to take travellers along to trips to the sea side, when we need a break and the surf is looking good . Also happy to show you yoga. I'm feeling quite inspired by the work away concept, and would like to establish a vegetable garden and keep working on the place so it's a better place for my guests as well as me. Using workaway has even inspired me to think about moving to the country, the only thing that has stopped me is fear of isolation, and not being able to get employment. Having regular visitors has helped me get the ball rolling, and I would like to eventually find a way of creating more space so people can stay even longer.
    I'm pretty flexible with stay times and arrangements ,as long as I get some notice if you can't make it, to give other people a chance to stay.
    If your expecting to walk into an immaculate tidy home, you may be dissappointed, part of the work is creating a comfortable enviroment for your self . I can let it slip a bit when I'm by myself, I'll admit, but feel more motivated tidying up when there are others to help me.
    It's important to me that everyone feels comfortable and relaxed around each other, this can be hard to tell from just chatting on a msg board. So I'm ok if you want to visit before hand, not always possible of course if you have just arrived in Melbourne. I will do my best to accommodate people for between 1-2 weeks , but if the vibes aren't there no hard feelings if we finish up sooner. You can't really tell , till you have met face to face.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm quite handy around the place and do a lot of work making other people gardens and houses nice, but struggle getting motivated working on my own place. So the type of work required develops in stages. The inside especially kitchen has been improved thanks to my 1st work away guests, Mike and Grace , but still a bit of work to do ie,organize shed and generally getting tools and stuff where they are accessible and I can find them , after that we can tackle gardening and home maintenance and renovations. No particular skills required, just enthusiasm , my idea is to make the work as fun as possible. What you don't know I'm happy to teach.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, limited German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a room set aside as a gym, yoga room, and while it's not a conventional bedroom. Have a mattress and bedding that can be put on the floor, either double or single. The room looks out to afternoon sun and has a leafy vista .

    I'm flexible with food and happy to cater for dietary needs eg, Vegan, Vegetarian etc, whilst I myself am an omnivore, I recognize the healthiness and ethics of the Vegan and vegetarian diet and happy to eat that way myself when eating with my Guests.
    House is 8km (as the crow flies ) from cbd , so within 1 hr by public transport, 45 mins by bicycle , or 20 mins by car ( when no traffic , which is rarely 😉)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Bus is closest public transport, also have a Bicycle available, (Luca a workawayer came and fixed up the bikes,) House is situated in a quiet crescent near the Darebin creek , can sometimes hear the laughter of kookaburras and they have even come and graced us with their presence .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Bins at the end of the Rainbow lol. My bit of wilderness in the suburbs.
Me, not in my backyard unfortunately, but hopefully one day !

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 126759258575