Help me to refit an old racing boat in Langkawi, Malaysia

Country

Malaysia

Favourited 111 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/09/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is David, I am a Pilot for large corporate jet in Singapore, I manage corporate Jets in Region. I have been in area over 10 years. live in LA, and Singapore, work month on month off type rotation. I purchase this Boat as fun hobby, decided to completely refit from the hull out. major refit. Why do something if it is not going to be first class? I provide all quality tools and dont expect any one to do something I am not willing to do my self. Work should be fun, live an adventure. I do work hard but play hard as well. In US my hobby is restoring older aircraft, and playing with them, Especially back county bush planes and camping. Idaho and Alaska are my favorite places for Playing. When I have cool toys or nice ones, I like people to enjoy the fruits of labors that they have contributed. I do keep things in vey top shape and expect that after the time and expense I put into them, others that I let enjoy do the same. Sex, Age, Religion, politics, and other preferences are a persons own decisions, I work at being a very accepting of peoples choices. Absolutly NO drugs ( also in this region it will get you executed!), Drinking is fine just be responsible.

    I have flown all over the world and traveled extensibly, had business or work in Alaska, Africa, US, Asia. The world is a wonderful place it should be experienced by all.

    wi fi at hotel, It is good. I have limited access at boat via teathering off cell phone. No animals or pets. I am quite allergic sorry. I am non smoker. but do not mind smoking but not in boat. just be courteous about it.
    I only speak english so you need to be fairly fluent in english

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They will learn a lot about ocean race boat. future sailing opportunities. Beautiful resort area Langkawi Malaysia, Thailand is only 12 miles away. Puket Thailand is 120 miles away.
    If you have an interest in Sailboats, and ones that were state of the art round the world racers, this is excellent opportunity.

  • Help

    Help

    I have a 65' sail boat, i am rebuilding. It is in Langkawi Malaysia. It was old Whitbread Round the world racer. won in 1990. I am doing complete refit. in exterior painting stage now. so i can put back in the water. No skills required, can instruct on site. If have skills like cabinetry that would be very helpful. Painting skills and prepare to finish for painting is easy to teach but if already know how that is good. Any Sail boat knowledge is a plus, but not required.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Hotel for next month or two. then on boat once put on water. and in Marina.
    I provide all meals when working, hotel rooms AC would be for up to two people. very clean hotel AC (economy, but quality for region), Laundry done my expense. Car possibly available, depends on my needs, but cars are inexpensive, as well as scooters, or motorcycles. Uber is very inexpensive when want to take day for touring the Island. Depending on boating knowledge, small rib may be available. That can be discussed. Liability, damage etc would be my concern. New engine on it.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Look up Langkawi Malaysia, it is in the Island group from Puket Thailand down into Malaysia. Ferry's to Thailand are operated out of Langkawi, for easy travel to further destinations.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 126457318247