Help restore our Heritage Property....Gardening, Arborist, DIY in Oamaru, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 77 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Before you read on...we are currently ONLY taking Arborists, Experienced Interior Painter, Builders, Electricians or those with experienced renovation skills

    Join our family and enjoy life with a Danish and New Zealand married couple with two delightful and sporty children and a gorgeous little 3 month old baby. We live in a lovely two storey historic house full of character situated on a 3500sqm property in the seaside town of Oamaru.

    You will have your own room and use a shared bathroom. You will enjoy a cooked meal every night and we have breakfast together. We will be grateful for any help if you are skilled and experienced in painting, gardening or DIY/building.

    There is free unlimited WIFI in the house. Food and accommodation provided. We speak English and Danish.

    Our children attend the local primary school from 9am-3pm Monday to Friday and David works full time from 4pm till 1am while Michelle is currently on maternity leave with a newborn baby at home and runs her own health clinic.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Practice your english
    Enjoy good company and conversation around the meal table at breakfast and at night
    Chilling out watching Netflix in the evenings by the fire
    Being in a really safe seaside town close to the outdoors (fishing, hunting, kayaking, beaches, mountains, sports clubs)
    Stay on a really pretty, unique historic property that is private but close to town
    Enjoy being part of a lively New Zealand family and join us on adventures
    Explore the beautiful surroundings - 1hour to Dunedin, 1 hour to Timaru and 3 hours to Queenstown and Christchurch

  • Help

    Help

    We are very interested to hear from you if you can offer the following specific skills:

    Yard transformation: We have a large garden with big trees (Walnut, Maple etc), lots of grass, a tree lined driveway full of bushes and shrubs, a vege garden, a green house....there is a great opportunity for somebody who loves gardening (landscaping, weeding, cutting trees, pruning) to make a big impact on a beautiful but overgrown garden. If you would enjoy doing a yard makeover AND have the necessary skills to make it happen we would love to hear from you!

    Interior Makeover: Painting walls inside - we are currently renovating our architecturally lovely arts and crafts style villa built in 1910. We have been inspired by a Swedish house and are copying this so if you are an experienced painter we would love to have you! We need curtains made, kitchen cupboards painted, art work hung etc.

    House Maintenance: It doesn't sound very exciting but giving the exterior house a was will bring it to life!

    Building: We have a 30sqm cottage down in the back of our yard that needs restoring - Re-roofing, re-flooring etc. It has the potential to be a lovely tiny house and we need workaways with the necessary building skills.

    If you would like to join us for one of the above projects, have the necessary skills, please contact us!

    In 2019 we will only be accepting workaways who have skills in gardening, painting or building.

    We love the workaway community so come join us on our journey of restoration and be part of its story.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Danish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A room with lovely views of the ocean and paddock next door and use of shared bathroom in a 4 bedroom two storey house. We live in walking distance to the pretty harbour, indoor heated swimming pool, many fabulous cafes, gymnastics club, fitness centre, squash and badminton courts.... and just a 15 minute drive from the Riverstone Restaurant - one of NZ’s best. Whatever you love doing we can help you get connected in locally. In the weekends we enjoy being together as a family and you are welcome to join us do your own thing.

    Oamaru is 3 hours from Christchurch airport and 1.5hours from Dunedin. We are happy to pick you up from the Oamaru bus station but you will need to make your own way here from the airport.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Oamaru is the largest town of the Waitaki District in the South Island of New Zealand. With one of the country’s oldest public gardens, renowned Victorian architecture, two penguin colonies, a rich heritage, first-class dining establishments, a craft brewery in front of the harbour, numerous golf courses, walking and cycling trails, golf courses and a whole lot more...there are endless opportunities to experience the best of Oamaru.

    Oamaru is a pretty seaside village with a population of 14,000 and has many great cafes and restaurants in the town and beaches 10 minutes away. The supermarket is a 5 minute walk from our property. There is a good library in town and an indoor swimming pool. There are lots of sports clubs you can get involved with while you live with us.

    Wildlife, harbour, botanic gardens, local lakes, horse riding, fishing, hunting, rivers and mountains are all on your doorstep. The Alps 2 Ocean cycle track - the most popular cycle track in New Zealand - is on your doorstep. On Sundays there is a steam train that runs around the harbour front.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

David, Michelle, Jasmine and Marmauke
Studio in the back garden that needs renovating
Our lovely Vege garden in Summer with a big walnut tree
We enjoy our lovely big yard facing the sun
Marmaduke and Jasmine
Swings in the trees - and a tree house has started being built
Vege garden and greenhouse
We love cooking sausages over a bonfire and look forward to trying out our pizza oven soon
Our beautiful home built in 1910!

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)











Host ref number: 126325634532