Help develop a permaculture farm and enjoy life in the rural area in Chimirrol de Rivas, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

new host  

Favourited 41 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey ! I am Maxime,
    I am a french guy living in Costa Rica since 2018. I speak english and spanish fluently.
    I come from the south west of France (Bask country).
    I am passionate about ecology, organic farming and sustainable lifestyle (and surfing). I recently acquired a 8 Hectares property on the foothills of the Chirripo. It is an old cattle land, pretty free of trees, with incredible views, springs and wildlife. I want to reforest, regenerate soil and grow food. My long term vision is to create an educational center where nature is at the center (natural building, craft, medicinal plants, art etc..), connect with the local community and help dynamise the local economy through cultural and agricultural exchanges.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Have the opportunity to experience the beginning of a permaculture project from scratch. Live a farmer life in the tropics of Costa Rica. Feel free to bring any suggestion to the project establishment. Live surrounded by an amazing diversity of animals, enjoy the abundant blackberries on site. Have a weekly surf session on the pacific only 1 hour drive from the land...

  • Help

    Help

    I am working with Andres, who is my partner from Costa Rica.
    We are looking for good connections, sharing the passion of agro-ecology.
    People excited to invest time and energy developing a permaculture project, and learning from it.
    If you have a background that can be helpful on a project of the little list below, you are more than welcome and if you dont, as well !

    I have several projects for this year (2021). Here is a list:
    - Build a Bamboo roof structure destined to shelter workshops, people and goods.
    - Prepare the 1 Hectare flat area in order to plant 250 avocado trees in May 2021.
    - Make trails and road
    - Dig a pond and install pipe from the spring to collect water for irrigation.
    - Prepare the vegetables garden (i have several heirloom seeds to try from my country !)
    - Maintain and clean the land
    - Plant native trees around the creeks and springs.

    lets connect !
    I willl be hosting from Mid January 2021.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There will be 2 types of accommodation. For now, I rent a house on a local property. I live basically with Ticos (that is how CostaRician people are called) who are like my family. 2 bedrooms are available on the house. On land, we will be making a sleeping area with roof so we can sleep on site during the week. Still has to be defined and arrange with each workawayer. I will be providing tent, mattresses and sleeping bag.
    Food will be bought for everyone at the local market of San Isidro. Food will be mostly vegetables, fruits, cereals and eggs.
    The food provided will be sufficient for 3 meals a day 5 days a week.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 125446794351