Experience the Italian way of life in the beautiful historical town of Bergamo, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 23 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/03/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello there,
    let me tell you something about our family.
    We live in Bergamo, in the North of Italy, (50 Km from Milan) in a nice residential area not far from the city centre but very green. There's four of us in our family: Roberto, 14, Francesco, 9, me, 46, English teacher, and my husband, 47, manager.
    They’re two lovely boys, easy to get on with. Roberto is very sweet and chatty, he's fond of foreign languages, reading and theatre and is eager to learn new things. Francesco is very sociable, very sporty and more of an active kind of type!
    We're a well travelled and open-minded family, we like being abroad and getting in touch with new cultures.
    I'm a very creative and bubbly type, I graduated in foreign languages and I can speak English, German and French. I was an exchange student in Germany for a year in high school when I was 17 and it was one of the best experiences in my life.
    I'd like my children to grow up in a multi-cultural environment, without any prejudices whatsoever.

    WHAT WE'RE LOOKING FOR: an English mothertongue girl/boy who can stay with us for 2 months in exchange for some English lessons.

    WHAT WE OFFER: full board and accommodation (we have a very big house and a holiday house near Venice), weekend trips to the best and most renowned Italian cities.

    We've hosted 4 different aupairs in the past and we're used to the experience.
    They've all been very happy with us and we're still in contact with them.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bergamo is a very nice town, if you'd like to have a look on the Internet there's plenty of things to do and see both in town and around (Milan, Como, Lecco, Gardalake, Iseolake, a lot of beautiful little old towns to visit).
    If you like art and culture there's plenty of museums, both of modern and ancient art here in Bergamo and a lot of cinemas and theatres. I'm very much into art, theatre and antiques markets, so you're happy to join me if you wish.
    There's also plenty of running and hiking tracks if you're into it, because we live right under a hill, in very green area of the city.
    If your goal is to learn Italian and take lessons, you could exchange English-Italian conversation lessons, there's always a lot of people (mostly young people) looking for this kind of swap.

    We'll welcome you as a member of our family and on the weekends take you around to see the wonderful sights of our stunning country.
    You will experience the real Italian way of life in all its charm :-)

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for a nice English mothertongue (or proficient speaker) girl/boy eager to learn about the Italian culture and way of life. We're offering free board and accommodation in exchange for some English tutoring for our two sons, Roberto (14) and Francesco (9).
    In particular I'd like you to teach my 9-year-old son Francesco English, he'a a beginner, he's been largely exposed to English mothertongue aupair girls but he's never really learnt, I guess because he was shy and didn’t dare speak, so you should teach him in a fun and engaging way.
    He's a very sporty boy, likes playing any kind of sports and just needs someone to spend time with him and encourage him to speak. I'd like you to spend some time with him daily and engage him in a fun activity (creative people are very welcome) so that at the end of your time with us he can at least be able to have a small conversation on basic things.

    I have another son, Roberto, who's 14 and started high school this September. His English is pretty good, so you won't have to teach him but just talk to him in English.
    Apart from staying 2 hours with Franci in the afternoon /evening (depending on the day) you would be free to do whatever you like.

    The stay could last 2 months (but we're very flexible about this), so that we can create a real bond with the workawayer.

    You should be an English mothertongue or a proficient speaker, very open-minded, creative, chatty, cheerful, interested in Italian art and culture and last but not least passionate about teaching children!

    If you think you're the right match for our family just message me and I'll get in touch with you in no time :-)

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We’ve got a big house (4 floors), so you’ll have your own room and private bathroom on the first floor, separated from our bedrooms and bathrooms which are on the third floor. This will allow you to have a lot of privacy when you need it.
    We have two living rooms with plenty of space, a very large kitchen, large balconies and a nice back garden (garden lover are very welcome!!!) and even a roof terrace if you like to get a tan!
    There's wifi in the house and two TV-sets with Netflix and Amazon Prime if you miss your favourite TV series.
    I'll cook lunches and dinners, but if you love cooking I'll be more than happy to have you cook!

    We've also got a holiday house at a seaside town near Venice, and a small motorboat to tour around the Venetian lagoon, so you are welcome to join us whenever we go there.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are two bus lines very close to our house, one going into the lower town (the modern one) and the other going to the upper, old medieval town.
    Bergamo is a University town full of Italian and European (Erasmus) students so it won't be difficult for you to get to know young people of your age, there's plenty of opportunities for you here!
    There's an international group meeting every week in a bar in the city centre and that is surely a great way to make new friends.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

In the famous Siena square, at Easter time
In New York, meeting our first aupair girl after 8 years
Sunday lunch at granny's home with our guest Shonna
Francesco and Daddy hiking in the nearby mountains
Last summer on our boat in the Venetian lagoon
This is our living room
Last summer in Marrakech
In New York in July 2018
Pizza with friends for Francesco's birthday
A nice day in Coney Island, New York City
In Tuscany at Easter 2019 with our American guest Shonna
In Morocco taking a cooking class
Christmas 2018 at home
At an antiques flea market in Veneto
In Bergamo waiting for the bus

Host ref number: 124618182146