Help us to create a garden and with some DIY projects in Grandham, Northern France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/03/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello, We have a house in a beautiful green part of FRANCE. It is old and there is much to do. We're learning about and creating a garden using permaculture methods.

    Also we are slowly renovating the house. It is an old stone house, perhaps 200 years old and has loads of potential. In other words, lots of work that can be done although the house is already comfortable to live in.

    One project close to my heart is to create an art studio from a sheep barn.

    We are a retired couple and speak English, Dutch, and some French and Hebrew. Improving our French through practice would be great. We laugh a lot, work without pressure as much as possible and love being in nature.

    Because we ourselves have spent years as volunteers in other countries we know the huge benefits and challenges involved..

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are in an area with loads of remnants from the first World War to learn about. The nature is beautiful, walking, biking. We are a Canadian, Dutch mixture. Languages of course. Art, Painting etc. Building with stone. Gardening in harmony with nature.

  • Help

    Help

    Knowledge of building and gardening in as natural and authentic way as possible would be great. We're learning to use recycled materials and to be as organic as possible. We definately want to work with nature. For example - how can we save and use the abundant winter rain to counteract the increasingly dry summers?

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Dutch, some French and Hebrew

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We will provide food and accomodation. It could be a private room with double bed or shared room depending on timing. We are vegetarians but do eat eggs and some dairy.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Public transportation is non existant but we can bring you to the train station. We will drive you to see sights and shop etc where possible. There are bikes you can use.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 121468346474