Come to Cornwall and help us with our eco sustainable project

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 356 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/10/2019

Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, name Is Jake.
    I am 24 years old and live in the heart of the Tamar Valley in Cornwall a designated area of outstanding natural beauty.

    I am looking for enthusiastic people with a flare and vision to come help me on my eco building project.

    I am a young construction manager and have acquired 4 acres of land in the beautiful Tamar valley in Cornwall, this is between Calstock and Cothele right next to the river.

    My aim is to create an eco sustainable environment in unique liveable pods, and off grid living. With this in mind I am looking for people to not only volunteer on this project but to live and help to create something special.

    The current living arrangements will be in a 1 bed comfortable chalet until the Pods are built. I am also looking at investing in a proper yurt with solar panels and at a later date a small holding; so anyone with any farming experience would be great !

    My Work is already well under way and by helping us, you would have the opportunity to pick up some valuable skills along the way. My dad is also looking to get involved, he is carpenter/cabinet maker/joiner with over 60 years experience and you would learn valuable skills from a time served tradesman.

    There is so much to do here, We are about 5 minutes walk from the Tamar river Which we row on regularly and I am very keen on a sport called Gig rowing.

    We have beaches with fantastic surf, the closest of which is about a 25 minute drive. I am a keen surfer and windsurfer and have a load of kit including a couple of kyaks. The train station is a 5 minute walk where there are connections to the nearest big city of Plymouth and London is 4 hours away by train.

    If you are looking to stay for a little longer then I could also provide you with transport. So come down :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for outgoing people who want to come and help in exchange for board, food, use of a car.
    Please feel free to get in contact with me to talk further about hours of help and lengths of board. We have had many foreign student staying here and we welcome them into our home as part of the family.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have space for 2 people as we have just finished building a granny annex with 2 double beds and a lovely power shower that blows you away!. The annex is about 30 meters from the house but has no cooking facilities so all your meals will be included which are lovely home cooked meals with homegrown vegetables and fresh eggs from our chickens. You will be welcomed as part of the family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day

Host ref number: 119122982787