Help us to assemble and install light solar kits in low income communities and improve our English language skills in Brasilia, Brazil

Country

Brazil

Favourited 21 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    09/04/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small and very harmonious family. My wife, our two children (15 and 12 years old), and my firstborn daughter of 29 y.o. We live in a very calm and safe region about 15 kilometers from the center of Brasilia, the country's capital. Our house has a guest room with private bathroom, good internet and a TV in the living room. We live very close to a mall, supermarket, bakery, bars and restaurants. There are bus stops very close to where we live. Our house also has a pool and 2 small dogs.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Charity Work
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a harmonious family and we love to travel. We know a lot about our country and many other countries.

    Today I have dedicated a great part of my time expanding a new social business called "Pisco de Luz".

    The sad reality of a historic Quilombola community in the region of Chapada dos Veadeiros, state of Goiás, was the main drive for the project. For generations, residents of the region have no access to electricity. This not only limits their daily productivity and social interaction to shorter hours, but it also exposes these Brazilians to various risks, such as animal attacks and breathing hazardous fumes from the diesel oil lamps. These lamps, which they use to illuminate their homes at night has also been the cause of a number of household fires in which families have lost everything they had.

    ​Given this scenario, we have created a low-cost solar energy system to implement in their homes. Solar kits consist of wires, led lamps, solar panel and a controller were installed with the help of volunteers. The system also allows the monitoring of energy use through an application. Our working model gives autonomy to local residents, so they can make installations and maintenance in their own communities.

    It has been an amazing experience for our whole family work in a NGO and I am sure that you are going to love it as well.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for travelers who have excellent English or Spanish fluency to help us improve our language skills. Especially for our younger children. We would also like people who love working as voluntier in our social business Pisco de Luz.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a dedicated guest room with private bathroom. In this room there is a small closet and two beds. Our routine is very specific during the week, because of the children and we relax more during the weekends. During the week there is a person who prepares our meals and we eat practically every day at home. We strive for a healthier diet and our guest will be most welcome to accompany us with every meal we eat at home.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Brasilia is a big city with many attractions, bars and good restaurants. There are several parks and activities to do outside. Including nautical activities, if you like. A few hours from Brasilia there are several beautiful rivers and waterfalls to enjoy in your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Fiber optic Internet access in our place (300mbps) good enough for everybody in our house. All rooms have Wifi and cable access.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 118878722523