Extra pair of hands welcome in West Cork, Ireland

Country

Ireland

updated  

Favourited 777 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    72  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/06/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    238

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, welcome to our profile...
    Firstly let me introduce myself.My name is Denise, originally from the UK and my husband is Chris and hes Irish,we live in a very old, very small farmhouse, which is under continuing renovation,so we have some unplastered walls, dust and things that are not in the right places yet!
    We have a small farm,with beef cows, a pig ,some chickens and ducks,as well as 2 dogs and 4 cats.
    I am looking for someone who can help me sort out some very cluttered storage areas as well as keeping the small garden in order, as due to illness and surgery I can no longer do as much as i once could. There are always weeds to be removed, and gravel to be weeded on the paths. Also some light household jobs, helping to sweep floor, empty dishwasher etc. On rainy days there could be painting to do. There are other activities carried out on the farm, but you are NOT expected to help with that unless you wish to.
    We live 3 miles from the nearest village, which is called GOLEEN and are only 1 mile from a beautiful safe sandy beach .
    We are easy going and quite laid back , and after a busy day,we like quiet evenings at home, with a roaring fire, and a dog or cat to cuddle .
    It is a simple life,with no mainstream TV ,but we do have Netflix when the internet reception is good enough and some dvd's!! And plenty of hot fresh tea!
    Someone with good English would be preferred , but not essential, and a love of animals and gardening would also be useful.As would a good sense of humour!
    We will happily include you in visits to a local market,nearby towns, and friends farms as well as take you to see the sights when time, transport and weather allows.
    I love cooking and try to do everything from scratch, I make Irish soda bread, and enjoy using fresh vegetables and fruit, as well as cooking meat for Chris. So most diets can be catered for..... Just let me know!!
    Your accommodation is in the main house with us, the room is quite small but there are two single beds, tv.dvd, and some storage. We share the bathroom. You may be sharing the bedroom with another volunteer, but it would be same sex as yourself.
    Our internet/wifi/phone signal is there but not always good.( Possibly not good enough for digital nomads.)
    ....So... If you think you can help with this and are happy to work in the garden and live as part of the 'family' for your stay, and you don't mind sharing the sofa with the dogs and cats...then why not drop me a line .You are guaranteed to get dirty, wet,and tired and maybe all three in the same day, but the rewards in seeing jobs done, I think ,makes it all worth while.
    Thanks for reading this. I look forward to hearing from you, and welcoming you to our little piece of West Cork.
    Boots,coats and gloves can be provided in most cases , as well as spare clothes....in case you are travelling light!!
    Looking forward to hearing from you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Many volunteers have learnt to cook, and garden,we try to teach what we know about our animals and birds, and also we have shared our local knowledge and we have also helped improve language skills but we are not teachers!

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers could be asked to help with a variety of tasks, from gardening,painting, helping with gathering wood for fire, and if necessary a little light housework .

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Bedroom in the main house, with 2 single beds, tv/dvd. storage and shared bathroom. Possibly sharing with another volunteer.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village is 3 miles away, and there is a VERY limited bus service, as we are VERY rural. But we do have some nice walks, a beautiful local beach, and you will be given plenty of time to enjoy the views and fresh air.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have many areas for parking depending on the season.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (4.3)

















































Host ref number: 118266923288