Help to develop natural woodland areas near Kilcullen, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/01/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is in the rural countryside of County Kildare, just outside Athy (5.6km) in the direction of Kilcullen (18km). I'm 50 minutes by car from central Dublin and Dublin Airport.

    The 10 acre horticulture farm is located close to both M7 and M9 motorways, giving easy access to the centre, east and south east of Ireland.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I work part time for restaurants that grow their own vegetables so those without transport will have opportunities to visit interesting locations. There'll be plenty of opportunities to meet like-minded people on or off the farm.

    I'm 7 minutes drive from the busy market town of Athy, which has a train station, traditional pubs and is home to the Shackelton Museum.

    The 12th Century Moat of Ardscull is 2 km up the road. We are 12 mins from 8th century Moone High Cross and 17th century Ballitore Quaker village. We are only a stones throw away from the Wicklow Mountains.

    My sister has an equestrian centre nearby so horse riding can be arranged. There's a wide range of recreational activities available locally including a traditional handball alley.

  • Help

    Help

    I'm developing natural woodland and meadow areas around the farm and need help with planting and
    maintenance. We also have a some chickens wandering around that need attention from time to time (feeding and collecting eggs).

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The four bedroom modern farmhouse has a double or single room for Workawayers. I have wifi and a separate sitting room with tv which can be used in the evenings. Everyone takes turns with cooking and cleaning in the shared kitchen. With plenty of organically homegrown veg to use, vegetarian and vegan meals are welcome but not essential.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a bicycle for day trips and a rod for fishing on the River Barrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 117195434386