900ha free range cattle property , Great environment and benefits near Sydney, Australia! Help with Household,Mechanical or Woodwork/building tasks!




Favourited 2173 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Join now to contact this host

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

  • Description


    - love children and preferrably have experience with minding them?
    - are sensible, sensitive, empathetic and responsible with little ones?
    - do not mind helping a little bit around the house (cleaning, cooking, laundry- really just normal "shared housing"-stuff) ?
    - would love to meet the Australian countryside on our farm with wildlife, cows, horses and hills?
    - can commit to staying with us for at least 3 months and you know what a commitment means (especially for little ones), so you are not just looking for your own fun?

    - full board and accomodation- we will try to cater for all your dietary needs.
    - pocket money on top of that!
    - inclusion in our family.
    - a car for trips around the area in your free time (surely you must have a current license and enough experience, fuel will be at your own expense).
    - introduction to all sorts of things depending on your interest (machinery, motorbikes, horses, meditation).
    - the honour to spend time with the most adorable little human in the world ;-)

    Our little one is a beautiful almost 18 months old little boy with a sharp mind and fast feet. Given the circumstances on our farm with draught conditions, alot of work and not enough people, Kevin and I are looking for someone who can help me with minding Kaylen from time to time while we need to do some jobs. I do also go to work a few hrs a week and Kevin needs back-up in that time so that he can still get things done or react to emergencys. Kaylen will not necessarily be your only task, depending on your interest, but for us the most important one. We need someone with heart and happiness for him and the chance for him to bond with someone over a longer timeframe. Believe us- you will not regret spending several weeks or months here! Our life is versatile and so will be your stay with us. We try to live as a great community and see every house guest as an extension to our family. CONTACT US NOW IF YOU THINK YOUR PATH MIGHT LEAD YOU THIS WAY!

    Welcome to our little slice of paradise!
    900 hectares of grass-fed, free-range beef cattle pasture and forest.
    A 3-hour drive North of Sydney - a short trip by Australian standards haha! Public transport also available - contact us for details on the cheapest/best way to arrive on the preferred date.
    Longer stays are prefered as this farm is large with lots of opportunities available . 1 week is not time to relax- you need time to enjoy, relax and unwind and time to learn new skills. We cant download years of information in 2 days, 2 Weeks is a minimum to get something worthwhile for your self, its recommended longer3-4 weeks . Stays of 6 months to 1 year have been accommodated in the past.

    Fantastic views, animals, a variety of daily activities and all close to beaches and 5 towns and the little hills us Aussies like to call 'Mountains'.

    Sonja is an equine-assisted therapist and horse educator practising 'Natural Horsemanship'. She can help you to learn about technique and communication with these beautiful animals as well as learning about tantra and meditation. It might be a great chance to expand your connection with horses to a new level. You don't have to be able to ride horses though, the horses are just complimentary to the farm situation- they truly roam free and are our friends. At the moment we do not have horses to ride on as some are too young, some too old and the others still in training. But rest assured that the contact with our lovely horses has so much more to offer than riding and Sonja is happy to share that experience whenever possible!

    Motorbikes are used every day. If you can't ride yet but would like to have a go, we have a little one that's easier to learn on. We also have 4x4s for those that don't ride anything and there are lots of walks you can do if that's your thing.

    We manage stock using principles of Holistic Management -impact grazing - some great books to read if you're interested in making better decisions in your life! So much info we can't include it all here...

    We often mill timber for building projects, like our cabin in the hills, or our house projects.
    We always have lots of projects going on and we have a full woodworking workshop, as well as a mechanical/engineering workshop for repairs to cars, trucks, & tractors. People with the practical ability get a chance to learn to weld, change the oil in the car ... simply lots of opportunities to expand knowledge /save you money in life .

    We are also trying to develop a food garden to feed us and our guests with healthy an organic food.

    Bookings are essential, and PLEASE KEEP US UPDATED if you change your plans.

    Always lots to do here, but you will have lots of space and personal time too. Time for meditation and self-healing, nature is a perfect cure-all, sunshine, fresh air and beauty everywhere. Time to understand and reflect on life's journey.

    We try and suit jobs to the individual's ability, but you might find yourself on the edge of your comfort zone too (they say that's where life begins!). You will almost definitely learn something - can't say what you will do exactly but we like to share skills and ideas. Every day is different!

    Artists/musicians are most welcome! We have several instruments here and a lot of arts/crafts material.

    We have been hosting travellers for over 18 years and have made many friends all over the planet and hosted over 400 people.

    We love to learn new things too, so don't be afraid to share your interests with us!

    Seems many people find this a deeply spiritual place taking with them memories of their insights.
    We look forward to sharing our special place.
    "Plans limit the possibilities of today " so if you're open-minded, like a challenge and would like to see real Australian way of life: Welcome- this is the place you will never forget!
    We do cater for vegetarians and meat-eaters so we enjoy sharing the different foods- the food is great by the way, lots of it and a variety of meals every day. We rarely have less than 10 at the table, enjoying our home grown organic meat, lots of vegetables and fresh fruits!

    Best wishes,
    Kevin & Sonja, Oliver and Baby Kaylen

    Please note: We often have cheap second-hand cars for sale from previous helpers and workshop facilities to service them. Currently, we do have some vans ready for the Australia adventure.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Charity work
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Meet other travellers as we usually cater for 4-6 persons, local characters and adventurers. Cars available for responsible drivers, you pay the fuel.

  • Help


    We love to invite you into our kitchen and encourage everyone to cook! Even if you don't consider yourself a good cook -
    practice makes perfect! It's just something we struggle to find time to do, so it's always greatly appreciated!

    We need help running the house and keeping it clean, tidy and comfortable for everyone after a hard day's work.

    There are often building projects happening of varying scales, from bird boxes and fences to eco cabins and many things in between.

    We have small fruit orchards with avocado, apricot, peach, lemon, orange and many more varieties of food trees that require some maintenance. Would love to hear from you if you have experience with permaculture or would like to learn about it together.

    All sorts of jobs that sustain and help grow daily life.
    We don't milk cows, they are grass fed beef stock and roam free all year round.

    We sometimes invite you to join us riding motorbikes for stock work, but it's difficult to teach in one lesson so don't expect to be out there straight away. It takes time.

    It's a relaxed lifestyle, but always lots to do!

    We are taking volunteers most of the year but not in dec january unless yu have been here previous you may be invited to stay through summer months - get in touch and let us know what skills you have!
    If you have a phone number in Australia, please include it when you write to us! We can also use WhatsApp. recomend ALDI mobile service and phone plans for travel

    Are you up for the challenge? You wont forget this place.

    Hope to see you soon!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Australian

  • Accommodation


    Very comfortable 6 bedroom homestead. Queen size beds. A small cabin close to the house as well as a large caravan . Shared dinning and kitchen. Good food. Extra caravans around if you like your privacy. Internet in the main house via Wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We believe that attitude is the key to success.
    Just 'have a go' attitude is all that's required; your opportunity here is limited by your imagination and initiative!!!

    What we share with folk is worth big $$, but it will cost you nothing to stay here. After 1-month people often say: "We have spent nothing here and what a great time we had!"
    You save roughly $100 a day on travel living expenses as well as having the opportunity to acquire new skills and perspectives for opportunities in the future- learn about tools, chainsaws, tractors, portable saw milling, eco building, animal behaviour...
    Close to the ocean, 25 mins by car- 5 towns.
    Close to the mountains, out your window!
    Don't forget to bring your smile!

    Cya soon,
    Kowboy & Co.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hrs, max 25 hours/week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 11419581654b