Help us pursue our dream of creating a self-sufficient community at our farm in Alingsås, Sweden



Favourited 389 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    There was a small community that was founded here in the deep parts of the Västgötska forests in 1783. It consisted of four families and 24 people in the beginning, who had four or more houses. By the 1900s there is said to have lived about 50 people spread into 9 households. They lived far from the cities and towns and probably made much of what they needed on the farms. They kept 5 cattle, 1 horse and 6-7 sheep at our farm alone.

    My name is Jonathan. Me and my fiancée Lisa along with our newborn daughter live here in the old house that once was part of the old community. I have lived here for three and a half years and my fiancé for two. Our ambition is to re-settle this land and revive what was once a bustling and thriving self-sufficient community.

    The house that we live in is one of the few left from the old community that is still intact. It has running hot and cold water from own well, shower/bathtub, washing machine, toilet, electricity, four wood-heating stoves and three extra beds.

    We have a low-technology mindset where we aim to limit the use of modern machinery, partly because we don't want to be reliant on industry and bought fuel, but also because we think it is a very important part of our heritage to learn the crafts and skills that are needed to live off the land. Modern technology has killed so much of the skill and craftsmanship that was once commonplace, we want to take it back. But we are also practical, chainsaws, refigerators, cars and computers help us reach our goals much faster than just axes and rope. We use technology but we try to learn crafts that enable us not be too reliant on it.

    We are in the starting phase of our journey towards self-sufficiency. We have six goats, ten chickens, some fruit trees and a small garden. We own a bit of forest and do a lot of work with timber. I also hunt and get some meat from that as well.

    We are looking for people with a similar mindset who want to join in this movement and help bring life back to these wild forests, like they were over a hundred years ago. Preferably people who are knowledgeable and experienced in permaculture, food-preservation, cooking, farming, carpentry/construction(old methods in particular), use of axe and saw, animal husbandry, tanning of hides, curing of meat etc.

    As of now the project we are in most need of workawayers is the construction of a log cottage to house volunteers or guests. We are also in need of establishing larger vegetable gardens and fencing in larger areas for our goats. Also firewood needs to be harvested from the forest. These are the main areas that we are looking for help with, but we also would have good use of volunteers to help with daily chores as cooking, doing dishes, animal care, chopping firewood, gardening and general help.

    The area we live in is deep in the wild forest and has many lakes nearby to swim in. Berries and mushrooms are in abundance as well as wild animals. Many good hiking opportunities. We live about an hour away from Swedens next largest city Gothenburg.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here travellers can experience a live closer to what was normal in the countryside of Sweden before much of the modern machinery took over agriculture and construction and the skills associated with that lifestyle.

  • Help


    Establishing vegetable gardens, construction and timber work, Fencing for animals, animal care, cooking, doing dishes, chopping firewood, and general help.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Beds in the attic

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area has many lakes and great forests. Fishing and hiking will be possible

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours, 5 days a week, with 2 days off

Host ref number: 251345141611