Volunteer with well-travelled hosts in Northam, Western Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    28  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    138

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My wife (Lois) and I (Tom) have both been travellers and we still enjoy travelling. Besides travelling we enjoy vintage cars. We both still work, Lois is in health care and Tom is working on many home projects. Our children have left home and have children themselves. We are both non-smokers. We live an active lifestyle and we enjoy doing various things.
    We love having guests and we always do our best to make sure our guests feel welcome, comfortable and enjoy their stay. We have a lot of fun so be prepared to exercise you laugh muscles
    We are trying to learn French so if you have skills in this language you will be especially welcome.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We will do everything we can to make you comfortable. We love to encourage people to see the very best of our state. Tom is mechanically minded and if you are thinking of buying a car to travel the state, this is a great place to start.

  • Help

    Help

    We are busy with several projects. Lois would like some help in the garden of our house that we have recently moved to. We are also renovating a small house whereby we could use a helping hand. For this project I could use someone that is simply assisting me with several jobs.
    In exchange for about 25 hours a week we will provide you with a comfortable living.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English. and learning French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own room, shared guest bathroom

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are currently moving back to our house in Northam. It is about 1&1/2 hour drive to
    Perth but there is a daily train service. We almost always make sure you are picked up at the airport if that is how you arrive. Having traveled a lot we know a few of the pitfalls that can befall the traveler. We will try to tell you about the cultural norms in Australia.
    WA is a place of great adventure. The North with its red earth, dry barren areas, wonderful gorges and casual busy towns is a hard but beautiful world. Once you have visited the north you will fall in love with it.
    For the adventurous, Northam is the only place in WA for hot air ballooning. In York we have skydiving and Beverley there is gliding. Also locally there's ultralight flying. Every year in August, Northam is host to the Avon Descent, the biggest white water raft-race in the world (if there's enough water).
    Further down south you can climb the Gloucester Tree 72metres and the Diamond tree 51 metres and at the top of each see over the forest canopy from a lookout cabin. Also in the south is the Treetop Walk which is utterly brilliant in the unique tingle tree forests. Albany is a beautiful city in the south which saw the first European settlement in the state.
    WA has everything and you will love it.
    AND on top of of all that there's our house. (named "The Vortex" by past workawayers who returned) Chez nous, Tom and Lois

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






















Host ref number: 113451218864