Help on an organic farm in Zagori, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 256 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    705

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi, we are a couple in mid 30's living on a small village in East Zagori.
    Our place is about 30 minutes by car from Ioannina a beautifull city with 100.000 people, and about 20 minutes from Metsovo.
    Zagori is a beautiful area consisting of 46 traditional villages. Is the best well preserved mountainous area of Greece. There is a great variety of plants and animals. There are many sights to see, many paths for hiking.

    We try hard to create an organic farm.
    We start grown organic beans, tomatos, we make our own red wine and a traditional drink called tsipouro.We will also start grown wheat, lentil, and other plants.

    We are also have 4 dogs, some chickens,Hens,rabits and hare.

    The place is ideal for people who wants to live in the nature,help with gandens and farm and do some trekking and explore Zagori, Metsovo,Ioannina etc.

    What we want from you
    First of all, we want to meet and have fun with interesting people near to our age, we want you to work together for about 4 hours per day,and 5 days a week(if you need more free time just tell me) when weather situations is good. All the other time is free for you to do what ever you want and why not to have some fun together.

    You will eat meals with us, we are not vegeterian but if someone is that is not problem, we can just cook some vegeterian foods.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Volunteers will work about 4 hours a day and 5 days per week. We want help to our organic crops, someone to feed dogs and chickens, and some time some help with building works to an old house that we want to rebuild (you dont need to know anything about build works, its too simple). If you need more free time we can do it, we just need to arrange that.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay to our house, you will have your own room with double bed, and also your own bathroom and shower. Bedrooms and bathrooms are in the second floor, in the first floor is the kithcen and the livingroom (with fireplace and TV) that you will also have full access any time you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 33 years old, openminded people.
    We preffer the voluteers to be a couple, near to our age, so we can understand eachother and also have some fun when we finish the work.
    Volunteers can do trekking in the mountains of Zagori, Valia calda and Metsovo, you can also tour to Ioannina city (about 30 minutes by car), its a beautifull city with many sights , many restaurants and bars.
    In summertime you can drive about an hour and swimm to the Ionio beaches (preveza, thesprotia).
    During the summer there is a small pool available for all of us in the back yard.

    We will try to drive you (for sure to Ioannina, my wife goes there at least every second day), to Mestovo , and maybe to some other zagori villages.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 113311315195