Come join us and help on our farm homestead in Northern Ontario, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 26 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/03/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family and farm values faith, community, stewardship, fertility and sustainability. We endeavor to work our 38 acres by building soil fertility through sustainable best practices.

    Although we call ourselves homesteaders we also have jobs to suppliment our farm income

    On a small scale we pasture cattle and grow veggies in the garden and the greenhouse. We enjoy discussing better management techniques and have enjoyed improved soil fertility even in the few years we have been farming.

    Our family has three children aged 14 to 18 who help on the farm when not in school. We enjoy playing music as well as reading and watching old tv series with good family values.

    Mary drives bus twice a day while managing daily farm and house activities; Matt works off farm as a medevac pilot and builds all of the required farm infrastructure in his spare time.

    Area amenities include the great northern Ontario outdoors such as fishing and camping, hiking etc. We are ten minutes away from timmins, a city of 50 thousand primarily engaged in mining and forestry.

    In keeping with our faith values our family are Christians and attend church on Sundays. We give thanks before meals and are thankful for the Lord's presence on our farm. We love to talk and discuss farm and spiritual life with old and new friends.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will learn:
    Agricultural ideals and philosophies.
    Food preservation techniques.
    On farm meat processing and smoking.
    Sausage making etc.
    Animal husbandry.
    Spirituality theology and the Gospel (if desired).

  • Help

    Help

    Seasonal gardening: creating beds, planting, weeding, pruning, watering, composting, harvesting.

    Animal husbandry and farm chores.

    Seasonal food preserving: preparing, and canning food preserves.

    General labor: yard work and maintaining house, apartment and farm in a clean and tidy state, winter wood processing and stacking. Sometimes maintenance and fabrication in farm shop.

    The ideal candidate(s) are task oriented and flexable to do what ever work is in season around the farm. You should have, at least, homesteading interests and/or skills. We could accommodate a small family if minimal space is required to be comfortable.

    There are seasonal periods in Timmins that are not conducive to outdoor work because of wet/cold/snowy conditions. During these times we look to volunteers to be creative in thier shared help. Expect to cook us your favorite dish; share some time discussing what you have tried and learned regarding life and homesteading. The dogs always need brushing! Etc.

    Volunteers should have similar values and interests.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    One bedroom garage apt. Bedroom (13'x8'), one sitting/eating/tv room (13'x13'), one three pc. bathroom (5'x5') and a small kitchenette for self serve breakfast. Access to farm house for main meals and socializing with hosts. Access to a vehicle now and then when needed if drivers have a valid license. River access on farm for fishing and boating and swimming. Access to public crown lands for free camping. Close to timmins-a city of 50 thousand and associated amenities.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    A typical day at the farm: dad gets up at 6 and goes to work. Mom gets up with dad and makes lunches while the kids do their morning chores. At 0730 mom leaves on her bus run and returns at 0900. Four hours of farm activities are planned plus a lunch break. This is were volunteer help would come in. Then mom leaves for afternoon bus run around 1430 and returns home along with kids around 1600. Free time for an hour or help with dinner. Evening chores then watch an episode of a family show or homework etc and to bed at 2200.

    There are many sports leagues like hockey, curling, and baseball etc in timmins. Outdoors camping trips along the Mattagammi river or anywhere in the wilderness on crown lands. Kayaking, canoeing, boating, fishing. Trails for off road vehicles. You need to like the great outdoors if you live in timmins!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Three to four hours per each night's stay, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 112866369214