Join our family and help us to create our sustainable farm in Co Kerry, Ireland

Country

Ireland

Favourited 64 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/06/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family of 4 at the beginning stages of creating our sustainable eco farm. We have 12 acres near Killorglin, Co Kerry nestled at the base of the McGillicuddy Reeks, below Ireland's tallest mountain, Carrauntoohil. We are in awe every time we look in any direction! We are also so excited to begin this new, lasting and nourishing phase of our lives and want to share it with everyone. We want to learn from our guests and teach our guests and share in the beauty of our world.
    We have 2 daughters 7 and 4, and a cat. Darragh plans to be working on the farm full time, building and creating for years to come. Donna will mostly work in the gardens and greenhouses when she is not working in the kitchen or in the health clinic in Killarney. Together we vow to save the bees, grow food, live in harmony with the earth and plant as many trees as we can, reforesting Ireland, one tree at a time. We hope to share, educate, learn, nourish and treat guests on our farm along their travels. Come live the dream with us, work hard, play hard and make amazing things happen.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We speak english and are happy to help you learn English during your stay. We also speak some Spanish, German and French. Here are some of the skills and goals that we hope to share with our guests.
    Donna works in a 'root cause' health clinic in Killarney offering bio energetic scans as well as being trained as a nutritionist, herbalist, massage therapist, birth doula, avid gardener, and aerial arts lover. We even have an aerial rig and practice aerial dance and aerial yoga.
    Darragh is a former world traveller and now has retired from his job in the USA, to come back home, at the base of his favourite mountains in the world. Basically being skilled at almost anything he tries (he is amazing), he will be the brains and the builder of all things farm related, as well as stealing away to the mountains, offering guided hikes, surfing and riding a motorcycle any chance he can get.
    Together we have built a home in Colorado, USA high in the Rocky Mountains, managed a small boutique hotel on Inch Beach in Ireland and run our own Air B and B in the past. We love meeting world travelers and providing accommodations. We are excited to venture into the glamping and camping side of accommodations now, going more sustainable, as well as someday hosting sustainable building courses, weddings and gatherings. We hope to take all of the best parts of our past experiences and meld them into the creation of our new farm. After making major changes in our lives, we have made the commitment to creating a fabulous farm.

  • Help

    Help

    Some of our goals on our new farm are to renovate our cottage (not working on it yet), create bespoke glamping accommodations (two being built now) on the property (dome, pod, bell tents and eventually a hobbit house or a double decker bus. We have big plans, for example, to fix our old stone building into our glamping bathhouse (will be happening soon), as well as turn one of our many stone separated fields into the "garden field " growing more than we can eat and sharing the abundance (ordering trees this week 2/18/20 as well as starting seeds and designing the garden. one greenhouse is planted already). We plan to plant an orchard and create our own food forest (look it up!). Constructing a stone circle is on the list too. We are lucky enough to have native Irish woodlands on the property and hope to be receiving a grant to further plant more of our land with native trees. We plan to have bees (getting ready for this spring!), hens, to build a sauna, wood burning hot tub, build various outdoor structures, build a tropical glasshouse for year round growing (this will be last, after we fix the house), build trail systems (DONE!), create a stream and pond system through a few fields to channel the water along the edge of the woods (DONE!), along with many more plans.
    General building help would gladly be appreciated, as well as gardening, child minding, cooking, trail maintenance, and basically any form of art. We accept smokers and ask that you smoke outside only. We are open to teachers coming and offering courses eventually. Our internet is not that great, it works, but can be very slow at times*

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, French, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Things are kind of primitive for the moment. We have power, water and septic and the blank canvas of a cottage. We have a 2 bedroom, fully equipped mobile home and we also have storage areas and dry areas as well as 2 greenhouses.
    We can accommodate any number of guests on the property to CAMP (for now) and possibly 1-2 guests in the mobile home.


    18/02/2020 UPDATE
    We have made great progress to prepare our glamping accommodations. Darragh has been working SO hard. We hope to have the first two octagons built in the next few weeks and then move on to building the guest bath house.
    We have also had to amazing workawayers helping us for 2 months now building trails, clearing the old stone building in preparation for the bathhouse, slashing thru thickets, having fires, helping to build the first 2 octagon accommodations, helping in the greenhouse and fields among various other things! Such hard workers!
    We are sad to see them go, and now ready for our next round of help with carpentry, building, gardening and celebrating springtime!


    We will feed our workaway guests 2-3 meals per day, or alternatively can provide food for you to cook or a stipend for you to buy your own foods. The kitchen will always be open and you are welcome to eat what we have and make meals to share. We hope to have some help in the kitchen from time to time as well.
    We eat organic, gluten free, dairy free and have a focus on trying to consume no processed sugars. We do eat meat and try to source local and free range. We will respect and accommodate any and ALL diets.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in the magical Kindom of County Kerry at the foot of some of the most amazing mountains and lakes in Ireland. The trailhead for Carrantoohil is 2k from your doorstep and an amazing mountain to climb. Darragh can even guide you up, as well as many other routes to peaks on both The Ring of Kerry (Skellig Islands are out this way!) and The Dingle Peninsula (another must see with over 2,000 historical sites). Kilorglin is our closest town, offering everything you may need along your travels. Killarney town (so lovely) and Killarney National Park are so close to home (25 minutes) and an absolute must. Also consider heading over to Rossbeigh beach or Inch beach for some play time in the surf and sand. We have friends that run the surf hire and surf school on Inch beach and it's a great place to learn how to surf. We have bikes and paddle boards too. There are Castles, Abbeys, abundant history and many lakes and forest glens to explore around the area as well.
    We strive to be hard workers, nature lovers, wildcrafters, gardeners, sustainable livers, healthy eaters and outdoor enthusiasts, and welcome all who share in these joys.
    We can provide rides to and from most places, as long as the flow of the farm continues and we would be happy to do guided tours when the time allows. The bus system is fairly good here as well.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 112219127118