Help on a goat and sheep farm on the island of Osterøy in the Norwegian fjords

Country

Norway

Favourited 637 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/10/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! We are Lars and Berit. We run our farm by a fjord in the Western Norway.
    Here we have 90 milking-goats, goatkids, 35 sheep with lambs and 2 dogs,
    We make the typical norwegian brown goat-cheese (if you don't know it yet, it's time to discover it ) and different traditional meatproducts from our animals. Berit also like to knit and weave with our wool and grow a garden. Lars like to build houses.
    In the summer we stay at our støl (summerfarm) in the mountain with the animals. Here we also milk the goats and make the cheese as well.
    The tasks here with us is to help us with seasonal work, general maintance, help us in the house, in the garden, with building, work with wood, animal care and also maybe making cheese. You stay in the house with us.
    With us you will learn about everyday- and a traditional life and sustainable farming with old breeds of goats and sheep and summerfarming in the moutain.
    Our grown up "children" comes home now and then for weekends or to help us with farmwork. Daughter, Guri, goes to an agricultural shcool in Voss and son, working at an mecanical workshop in Stavanger and there are two older also whom also comes home now and then.



    Мы семья из четырех людей, живущая на ферме по фьорду в Западной Норвегии. Там наши две Юношей, дочь, прочь на сельскохозяйственную Shcool в рабочие дни, сын, которые работают в гараже, мой муж Ларс и я Берит.
    Теперь у нас есть две собаки, 8 кур, 75 доения коз и 35 овец.
    Мы делаем типичный норвежский коричневый козий сыр (если вы не знаете еще, пришло время, чтобы открыть его;))
    Летом животные в горах со своими детьми и ягнятами, и мы остаемся там тоже на нашей горной ферме (лето фермы) два молока козы.
    Работа здесь с нами два помочь нам два жениха и кормить животных, доить коз, делают сыр, содержание лесов и все другие виды помощи, которая необходима на ферме в течение сезона.
    Мы предпочитаем иметь одного гостя в то время :)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about everyday- and a traditional life and sustainable farming with old breeds of goats and sheep and summerfarming in the moutain and learn about how to make the typical norwegian brown cheese.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks are mainly helping us with the animals or general maintenance reqired on a farm!
    We also need help in the house, the garden and different projects as fencing and building.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Norwegian, english, basic german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will stay in a spare room in the house as a familymember.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live on a farm on the island Osterøy. It is one hour with car or bus from Bergen. It is surroundet by fjords, forests and mountains. The highest mountain is almost 900m high.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours day





Host ref number: 111793479674