Share your time and passions and help us get things done at our home in Kauai, Hawaii, USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 2345 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 2 Okt. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    We're a family with three kids (born in 2013 and 2014) living in a stunning valley on the north shore of Kauai, Hawaii's Garden Island, usually with 1-3 visiting guests.

    To join us, you'll want to be sure of several things:

    1) You are in a stage of your life where you have a strong desire to hang out with and teach elementary age children. It takes passion, patience, and skill. If you are, understandably, looking for a place to stay while you collect fun experiences on vacation in Hawaii, and simply like, or don't mind, having kids around, then that is not going to be enough for a good fit. That said, guests are not responsible for parenting our kids and we are not looking for nannies.

    2) You have a passion for learning and the inclination to really mindfully engage with us and our projects. We have many ongoing endeavors (building, farming, teaching, cooking, etc) that require high quality execution and follow through. We have in house skill in various trades, and are happy to teach attentive guests eager to learn and grow.

    3) You are comfortable with a two to six month minimum stay. We have found that it is necessary for building a true connection with our family, and it allows you to take on and see projects through to the end.

    The best way to think about living with us is to consider yourself joining a family, a mini-community, and a homeschool educational project (though our kids attend public school). We aim high and use structure and routine to help us maintain good habits, and hopefully raise healthy children. Think "homeschool family internship."

    Guests generally help with three things.
    1) Most of your time will be spent on projects which include painting, landscaping, and gardening.
    2) Some of your time may be spent doing office and research type work.
    3) And 1-2 hours a day may be spent on assisting school/homeschool enrichment efforts which may include math, writing, Spanish, music, art, sports, gardening, etc.

    We take teaching quite seriously, have identified some great curriculum and teaching tools, and often consider going back to full time homeschooling in order to more fully re-imagine elementary education.

    We are aiming to replicate parts of the Dervaes Family Farm which you can google.

    Some things to note:

    We make a point of living as a small community / big family and everyone joins us for an early morning 15 minute quiet sitting as the sun comes up, followed by breakfast at 7am (9am on weekends) which everyone also attends and helps set up and clean up. We try to cook 3 times a week on a MWF schedule and stock the fridge with prepared food that can easily be reheated before meals. Breakfasts and dinners are shared on weekdays, though we play it by ear on weekends.

    Outside of each guest's share of communal responsibility for their food prep and common area cleaning, people assist about 25 hours a week from Tuesday through Saturday or Wednesday through Sunday depending on our homeschooling needs.

    Lastly, while we live near what many consider the best spot to learn to surf in Hawaii, our home is in a rural location that requires a car to get to the beach. There is no hitchhiking, walking or biking, and limited taxi service.

    However, for beach time, once a day you can catch a 13 minute ride with us to Hanalei Bay (also the bus stop for exploring the island). That will either be from ~7:30 to ~10am for a dawn patrol surf/swim after the kids are dropped off at school. Or it will be from around 4:15pm, returning for a 6:30 group dinner.

    On free days guests often share a rental car or take the $2 bus from Hanalei. We encourage everyone to overnight at the amazingly beautiful Anini Beach Park. The world famous Napali Coast is at our doorstep.

    If this sounds like something you'd like to be part of, please tell us more about yourself, your specific skills, experience, aspirations, and anything else that helps us get to know you.

    Many Thanks!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We're unusual in that we feel so strongly about living in a more communal way. In our last homes in Madrid, and near San Francisco, we regularly had 3-5 people eating meals with us every day - with several languages between us. Here, the kitchen table seats 8 to 10. Our family is a mix of Irish American and Northern Thai.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Here are the skills that you'll need to succeed.

    1) You lean toward being a leader.

    2) Hold a high bar in all you do.

    3) Great with kids and have a genuine interest in spending time with them.

    4) An ability to keep your phone in your room much of the time, and in your pocket around the kids.

    5) An interest in living communally and giving/sharing with others.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Thai: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We'd love to fill the house with people wanting to practice and expand their Spanish and/or Thai.

  • Unterkunft


    It really depends on who is staying with us at the time, with a first come first choice policy. Most people stay in either of several guest rooms. Be prepared to share a room, but often that is not necessary as we have a lot of space.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Research the north shore of Kauai, and you'll get a sense of the stunning beauty.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Yes, we have fast internet. Ideally you're on vacation, or your main job is a remote online one. Many guests work or go to school online.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5 hours a day with 2 days off a week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 943732726226

Feedback (24)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

A place to come and enjoy ranch life, campfires, learning and good times in Leona Valley, USA
Easy peasy, help here is breezy. Join us in a great neighborhood in Chicago, USA