Two families, three Kids: Ecological renovation and a big Garden invite you to join in South Germany



aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 281 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    ///Actual constructional plans for Sept'19 ///
    - Start to install the heating system in our main building
    - finish the new bathroom and tear down the old one
    - clay work
    - plastering
    - tiles in the bathroom
    - install wall heating system
    /// Kitchen and child care helpers are also very welcome ///

    We are two families with three children, living on a small farm in South Germany (Dürnau, Baden Württemberg).

    Our goal is to get a somewhat (self-) sustainable small farm running here, but we are really at the beginning since we just bought that farm in spring 2018. There are a lot of things we still need to figure out what to do with on that farm. For example we'd like to re-activate some horse machines instead of using that old tractor we bought together with the building. But there is a lot of work to be done till we may think about things like that.

    We like having guests very much, since that means a lot of life around us all the time. We used to use Workaway, some alternatives and also Couchsurfing for quite some years to travel the world on our own.

    Katharina: freelancer Midwife, who enjoys living here
    Moritz: "farm" -keeper and Student (studying part-time something with business, economy and sustainability at some online-university (home-studies).
    Harry: Media designer, working part-time via Internet and also very present around the farm
    Davina: Mother of twins, working part-time in an organic food shop, enjoying garden work
    Three kids: (all born in spring 2016) enjoying life around the farm.

    Our life on the Farm is focused on Family, Children and work that can be done together. We spend a lot of time with our kids, doing things with them (we also work with them and they are always welcome to help us to do things), practicing ATTACHMENT PARENTING. What sometimes seems like we're spoiling them by always doing what they want - but there is a lot of theory in the background and we read a lot of books about that parenting method. We also discuss a lot about how to handle past situations so we get a better success in parenting and handling our children. Also we try (more or less successful) to actively use these theories in the real world, with adults and with our own. So we just try to avoid a lot of misunderstandings and disagreements by just giving a lot of attention in how to tell things and deal with people.

    We DON'T eat a lot of meat nor milk products. Vegans and Vegetarians are very welcome!
    Be aware that I do butcher a rabbit from time to time, for eating. Vegan / Vegetarian alternative always available.
    And: We only buy organic food from an exclusively organic shop (that's almost a religion. If you started being that strict, you can't put a foot into a supermarket without disgust). If you have too extravagant wishes (which maybe are even not available in our local organic shop) you might need to buy them yourself.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We do speak German, English and French. I can show you a lot of handcraft things. You will participate a lot of handcraft work anyway. You will get in touch with some locals here, you may also have some free days in the city and my wife can probably bring you there anyway, since she's driving around all the time for her job.

    But the main thing is: I think you got a great time and just easy going relaxing work with a young motivated team and a lot of children.

  • Arbeit


    There are some different tasks we are currently focusing on, for example:
    - (Re)constructions on the main living building.
    - Gardening (if you are somewhat experienced, or if you just want to try out some crazy things, just do it. last season we started with some easy plants, but our aim is not to be dependent on food shops for vegetables all year long)
    - animal care. (same thing: We just have some rabbits/bunnies and chicken for now, but we aim to be almost "self sufficient")
    - If you are able and willing to cook, we are very happy about that. Moritz does cook quite well, and he also likes cooking, but it's always nice to get a fresh wind into our kitchen.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    German, English, French, open for any language

  • Unterkunft


    possibilities for guests:
    - We just installed a worker and guest space in the barn, no photo available yet. it's cool and comfortabe.
    - we have another guest space in another place of the barn, that is ready for guests (actually especially couples and small families)
    - there are some tents and enough ground to bring a caravan or whatever you prefer to bring with you to live in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is a bakery in our village, but the first shop or market is 3km away, you can go there by bike easily if you like. There is another Wwoof-Farm in our village, so there are a lot of interesting people around. There is a bus connection to Biberach (and other cities around our village) about every hour during daytime on working days. We got some bikes, and you may go on a tour with these bikes for a day or two - or more. The region is quite flat, but not too flat, and there are also some very interesting cultural things in the Region. Actually it's known as a comfortable holiday biker region.
    Most interesting things around here (as far as I know):
    Wackelwald (Bad Buchau)
    Bachritterburg (Kanzach)

    english tags:
    sustainability, sustainable, selfsustainable, ecological, ecologic, permaculture, gardener, farmer, gardening, farming, field, soil and humus, wheat, grain, making bread, bakery, self sufficiency, self sufficient, vegetarian, couchsurfing, wwoof, wwoofing, horse, draft horses, pony, ponies, recycling, workshop, open source, linux, attachment parenting, bike, bicycle
    deutsche Stichworte:
    nachhaltig, Nachhaltigkeit, biologisch, ökologisch, ökologischer Bauernhof, Gemeinschaft, Aussteiger, Bioland, Garten, Gärtnerei, Boden und Humus, Feld, Acker, Getreide, Brot backen, Selbstversorger, Selbstversorgung, Vegetarier, vegetarisch, Vegetarier, Kaninchen, Fahrrad, Liegerad, Liegefahrrad, autofrei, Werkstatt, bedürfnisorientierte Erziehung, Fahrrad

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    not more than 25h per week

Our kids at the play ground in our village. They love to climb on that thing.
making hay for the bunnies. far too much hay, though... what comes next? we might want to get more animals soon.
we are trying to pioneer an ethical way of keeping and breeding bunnies. anyway, as everywhere, we are at the beginning.
the main entrance of the building... well, we're in renovation, it's not supposed to look like that...
garden in Summer
that used to be the barn, the garage for the tractor and the pig stable. Now it's a workshop, and most of all, the lawn in front is our main living place during summer.
i pray that we get the chance to use these horse harnesses once upon a day.
that's our field. and that's not our dog ;-)
Garden in Winter
maintenance work in the Garden. Here: cutting trees and Branches

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.9)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 387156818544