Friendly harbour-side forest home looks for help, Northland, New Zealand



Bisher 15 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

  • Beschreibung


    I am looking for a person or a couple to help me with various tasks around the house and garden, like painting, firewood, weed control (see below for details). Some experience would be good, but not vital. In return, I'm happy to share the Kiwi way of life with you. I’m also seeing this as an opportunity to meet new people and learn of their lives in other countries.

    You will need your own insurance for illness and accidents.

    My name is Mike and I live on the coastline of Whangarei Harbour, central to all the wonders that Northland has to offer. I share my home with a small schnauzer dog, who is very friendly once properly introduced. My training as a landscape architect gives me reasonable knowledge of the surrounding natural world and I am happy to share what I know - just ask away! I enjoy cycling, hikes and boating, as well as working outdoors and reading. My work is from an office that occupies a room upstairs.

    As a vegetarian I eat seafood, but other than that I usually don't have meat in the house (but have no moral objection if you want to have some here for your own consumption). I am quite a flexible, laid back und - usually - quiet person. Most people seem to find me friendly and easy to get along with. I sometimes have friends or my young adult daughters spontaneously arriving on my doorstep, so you would need to share my casual approach to such visits. My partner is European and may be in NZ with me at various times.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I'm happy to share the Kiwi way of life with you, take you out on the boat and go fishing, hiking or biking with you (provided I can fit it in my timetable). I can lend you a bike, snorkeling gear, a kajak and other gear you might need if you look after it well, in case you want to go exploring on your own.
    My training as a landscape architect gives me reasonable knowledge of the surrounding natural world and I am happy to share what I know - just ask away!

  • Arbeit


    Having quite recently moved to this house, there is plenty to do! Depending on your skills and what you feel comfortable with, the might include:
    • Gardening weeding and planting
    • Forest weed and pest control in the bush: killing weeds by digging out or poisoning them.
    • Getting firewood: chopping wood, carrying and stacking for later use (I will do any chain-sawing).
    • Work on the boat: sanding and painting a yacht that would be pulled up off the shore.
    • Minor house redecorating: painting the walls, general house maintenance.
    • Building: possible minor carpentry work.
    • Sewing: the place can be cold in winter, so I want to sew curtains.
    • Helping with other minor building projects and the like.

    Some of the work could be potentially hazardous, such as working with paints and weed poison. I will provide good directions (which I will make sure you understand) and suitable safety equipment. It is important that you are able to follow my instructions. I will show you exactly what needs to be done and I'm more than happy to answer any questions, so don't hesitate to ask.

    The work can be very physical, so you need to be comfortable with work outdoors in general.
    It would be useful if you had your own working clothes and boots, but if not, I should be able to find you something suitable. Since the weather changes very quickly here, it would be helpful if you bring rainproof clothing. Everything else will be provided.

    A minimum stay of a week would be preferred. After that, you'll be welcome to stay for longer if it has worked well.

    You would work 5 hours a day and I'll provide breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus accommodation. Work would be 5 days on and 2 days off, and I prefer the 5 days to commence after your arrival unless otherwise negotiated.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen


  • Unterkunft


    My home is perched on a steep slope amongst large native trees (complete with wood pigeons, fantails, moreporks, quails and more), and runs down to a private beach. You can enjoy your time here on the deck or in the lounge and kitchen, and I'll be happy to take you out in the boat if that fits with my plans. You can also use a bike if you want to do some cycling. This is a slightly remote place that is a 20min drive from the town centre of Whangarei and there is no public transport in this direction, so having a car would definitely be helpful. If you don't have one, I can pick you up in the town centre upon arrival and drop you off again.

    You will have your own very quiet room with a beautiful view out into the bush and a bed with a futon mattress, and shared use of a bathroom. You are welcome to use the WiFi (although I have a limited plan in this location which unfortunately means a restriction on long streaming) and the washing machine.

    Usually, I will make a vegetarian dinner, but if you want to show me how to make meals from your home country, I'd be more than happy. Help with dishes and generally keeping things tidy is very much appreciated.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Whangarei is a very relaxed town with a lot of small events going on, especially if you're interested in art and the outdoors. We have the most beautiful beaches in the vicinity, a lot of great walks around the area and some spectacular views. If you're looking for a vibrant nightlife, Whangarei is probably not a perfect place to be, but we have quite a few smaller things going on, like exhibitions, music events in the evening, choirs, markets and so on. There are a good range of shops offering almost anything that one could wish for.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 482835315678