Help in a small farm and organic garden between Noosa and Rainbow Beach, Australia

Country

Australien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 59 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hi!
    We’re Marc and Kerrianne and we live on a beautiful 32 hectare property 50 minutes north of Noosa and 15 minutes from Gympie on the way to Rainbow Beach. We’ve been having international volunteers stay with us for nine years now (HelpX), and we have lots of friends all over the world because of it. We have just started workaway, but have thirty-five 5 star reviews on HelpX. Many of our visitors have come back because we have made sure they are comfortable and like to show them the best of Australian hospitality. Some have even returned four times! It is easy to get here – by bus to Gympie from Brisbane. We can pick you up from Gympie on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday or Friday. You will be greeted by our family pets (cows, sheep, chickens,dog and sometimes the native wildlife),

    Marc has worked in conservation and environmental education for many years and is happy to share his knowledge of local native plants and animals. Our goal for the property is to provide a sanctuary for wildlife. Wallabies hop around everywhere, Wedge-tailed Eagles fly high in the sky and if you’re lucky you might see Koalas in the trees or platypus in the creek! The birdlife is absolutely abundant.. It is a joy to wake up and hear the morning chorus.
    There are many plants and animals living here that are threatened with extinction, so we feel it is up to us to protect and improve habitat for these special inhabitants. We love welcoming people who are interested in the environment and sustainability and it is a good opportunity for you to learn and to participate in making the world a better place.
    The property has a creek to cool off in when it’s hot and there’s a double kayak for a paddle. There’s heaps of really good walks, from the shady rainforest ravine or the creek to the beautiful open ridgeline where the cows graze and you can look out as far as Fraser Island in the distance.

    Kerrianne loves to grow food and we eat year-round from our organic garden and a wide variety of fruit and nut trees. Every day is a harvest. We like to cook and eat with our guests and to discover new dishes from different parts of the world. The meals are vegetarian, but don’t worry, we love our food - it is always really tasty and you will always be satisfied. Please let us know if you have any special dietary requirements, so that we can cater for your needs.

    You will have your own space in the cottage out the back of our house with a games room, good wifi, TV screen for movies and 2 decks where you can relax and read a book or enjoy the views. You have your own separate bathroom (may be shared with 1 or 2 other helpers and the occasional frog). You can even spot a wallaby going past if you’ve got the door open at the right time. There is also a tiny, very comfortable cabin with access to a barn for additional space with it's own outdoor solar shower and toilet.

    The help is for about four hours a day (20 hrs a week). We’ve been told we’re not slave-drivers at all and we like to find work that suits both you and us. There is always work on the land, in the garden, building upkeep, nursery or help with cooking and cleaning. We always like it when visitors help us cook or like to cook themselves!

    In return you will get a comfortable bedroom to yourself in the cottage and tasty, nutritious meals straight from the garden. Marc is an avid kitesurfer and often goes to the beach, so he is happy to take workers on beach expeditions. We always make an effort to show you some of the beautiful sights or local events. Most visitors stay 2-4 weeks, but if everyone is happy a longer stay would be OK too.
    Cheers
    Marc and Kerrianne

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We both have much experience to share in sustainable living, permaculture, growing, processing, preparing and eating tasty, healthy organic food. We have lived a sustainable lifestyle for much of our lives and love it. We also have a few cows, sheep, chickens and a dog .....all treated as pets. Marc is a local expert in conservation and habitat management and an environmental educator. Helpers would get to see and learn a lot about local wildlife and plants, bushfoods and improving habitat. There are friendly wallabies (some we even pat), Kangaroos, Platypus, Echidna and Koalas can be heard most days.

    We love getting to know and interact with our visitors and treat them as friends / guests rather than just workers. We also enjoy learning about their lives and the countries that they come from. Helpers will improve their English and we always take them to some of the beautiful places or events in our area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help we need includes environmental projects (eg treeplanting & bush regeneration), working in our permaculture style garden (planting, mulching, picking and processing fruit & vege's), preparing meals or help in the kitchen, working in a small nursery for local native plants, cleaning. We sometimes have building or building maintenance projects as well, but don't require building experience.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Helpers will stay in either a tiny, but very comfortable cabin or a 2 bedroom cottage. You will have your own private space when you need it, but we share meals in the house kitchen. Rooms have fans, insect screens and the buildings are insulated for comfort. You will have your own shower and toilet facilities separate from the house. Beds are double or queen sized and clean sheets, towels etc are provided. There is a shared laundry for you to do your washing. You will also have access to good wifi.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are many things to see in this beautiful area that we live in. At home on our lovely 80 acre property there are walks along the creek (with Platypus). We often go to Rainbow Beach as Marc is an avid kite surfer and we visit local swimming holes, mountains and national parks. There is a little known national park within walking distance of the property and we have pushbikes for you to ride through the countryside. Sometimes we go kayaking on the creek at home, on the Noosa River or even in saltwater areas near Fraser Island. There may also local music or cultural events to go to. There is no public transport as we live in the country, but we regularly go to town if you neede a lift or we can drop you in places to catch a bus to Noosa for example.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Any size is OK. You can park your camper next to our barn / bush kitchen with a shower and toilet close by. The barn has basic furnishings so you can spread out under shelter.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    We expect 3-4 hrs 5 days a week including help in the kitchen.

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 335382592474